• Need help with your book? Click here!


The Writing.ie Short Story of the Year Award 2014

Article by Site Editor © 15 May 2014 .
Posted in the Magazine ( · News for Writers ).
irish-book-awards-celebrating-irish-writing crop

Writing.ie is delighted to announce that we are sponsoring the Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards Writing.ie Short Story of the Year Award again this year. Last year’s inaugural winner, Cork based author Billy O’Callaghan told writing.ie,

“It is no exaggeration to say that winning the Writing.ie Short Story of the Year Award has changed my life. I have been writing for several years now, and for most of that time it has been a bit like trying to push a piano up the side of a mountain. Not only has it been a vindication of all my hard work, it has put me, suddenly and definitively, on the map. Maybe it’s a question of the credibility that the major industry recognition of an Irish Book Award brings, but magazine editors are becoming more receptive to my stories, and reading opportunities have begun to open up for me, at festivals both at home and abroad. In the past six months, opportunity has come knocking over and over again, in small ways and big, and all are as a direct consequence of winning the award.”

The Irish short story has a distinctive place in the modern Irish literary tradition. Many of Ireland’s most celebrated writers, both in English and Irish, have been practitioners of the genre, its roots without doubt, in our ancient tradition of story-telling. Indeed, many award winning novelists have launched their careers with short stories, gaining recognition through a form that the internet has breathed new life into, by providing writers with new places to publish, making their work accessible to millions of potential readers with the click of a mouse.

This category in the prestigious Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards, the Writing.ie Short Story of the Year Award, is open to short stories of up to 7000 words published between 1st Nov 2013 and 31st October 2014 in any of the following contexts: a collection of short stories by a single author; an anthology of short stories; or an established journal or magazine, digital or print, that has been in existence for at least six months within the period of eligibility.

Stories must be original fiction, i.e. neither a reprint nor adaptation of a previously-published work, and all stories must have been or will be published in English or Irish during the qualifying period.  Stories published in Irish must be supplied with an English translation.

The author must be Irish by birth, citizenship or long-term residence.

Please read the full Terms and Conditions here.

Vanessa O’Loughlin,  founder of The Inkwell Group publishing consultancy,  of Writing.ie and Chairperson of Irish PEN said, “Writing.ie was developed to assist writers worldwide to perfect their craft through the wisdom and experience of Irish authors, and to promote those authors to a global audience. With thousands of articles designed to inspire and assist writers, we are an active hub for Irish writing and are thrilled to be involved in Bord Gais Energy Book Awards. We are very much looking forward to hearing from new and established voices.”

Submissions will be judged anonymously, the long list read by an independent panel of four judges: last year’s winner, author Billy O’Callaghan; Director of Dublin City of Literature Jane Alger;  and literary agent Simon Trewin, Partner and Head of Literary at WME London, plus Writing.ie’s Irish editor Cathal Póirtéir.

To submit a story, please click here.

The judging panel will select the final four stories to be shortlisted for the Writing.ie Short Story of the Year Award. The winner will be announced at the Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards on 26th November 2014. For more information about the awards check out: http://www.irishbookawards.ie/

Read Post chronologically.