• Kazoo Independent Publishing Services Special Offer

Guest Blogs

A blog by Louise Phillips

LOUISE PHILLIPS is the author of four bestselling psychological crime thrillers. Her debut novel RED RIBBONS, and her subsequent novels, THE DOLL’S HOUSE, LAST KISS and THE GAME CHANGER, were each nominated for Best Irish Crime Novel of the Year. She won the award in 2013. Louise’s work has formed part of many literary anthologies, and she has won both the Jonathan Swift Award and the Irish Writers’ Centre Lonely Voice platform, along with being shortlisted for the Molly Keane Memorial Award, Bridport UK, and many others. In 2015, she was awarded a writing residency at Cill Rialaig Artist retreat in Kerry and she was also a judge on the Irish panel for the EU Literary Award. Her current novel, THE GAME CHANGER, is available nationwide. In 2016, she was longlisted for the prestigious CWA Dagger in the Library Award, and her first novel, RED RIBBONS was published in the US. She was also awarded an Arts Bursary for Literature from the Arts Council of Ireland. In August, THE DOLL'S HOUSE, is due for publication in the US with Polis Books. Louise Phillips is the crime writing mastermind behind writing.ie's Crime Scene blog.

You can follow Louise online, on Twitter and on Facebook.

What an amazing two weeks….THE GAME CHANGER

Posted by Louise Phillips on 24 September 2015.

      The last two weeks have been tremendous. Huge thanks to everyone who reviewed THE GAME CHANGER… “Phillips spins the multi-layered mystery of The Game Changer with considerable fluidity. As the narrative shifts from Dublin to New York, from one character to the next, from minor players to major figures in the plot, she never loses sight of the central ruse that draws the reader in…..It’s a thrilling page-turner that will keep you...

Read the full article >>

Irish Crime Novels September 2015

Posted by Louise Phillips on 21 August 2015.

Irish Crime Novel Publications September 2015 Great choices for this September #justsaying With Our Blessing – by Jo Spain September 3rd Death At Whitewater Church – by Andrea Carter September 3rd The Game Changer – by Louise Phillips September 8th  

Reading Ireland focus on Irish Crime Fiction

Posted by Louise Phillips on 6 August 2015.

Reading Ireland is a new on-line quarterly publication founded by Dundalk native Adrienne Leavy to promote Irish literature and contemporary Irish writing, both in Ireland and in the United States.     Here is what the editor Adrienne Leavy had to say:- “Each issue will focus on a specific genre or type of literature. For example, the summer issue, which was recently published, Reading Ireland focused on Irish crime fiction. Contributors included award winning Irish...

Read the full article >>

Bloody Scotland Crime Book of the Year!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 31 July 2015.

The 2015 shortlist for the Bloody Scotland Crime Book of the Year (formerly Deanston Scottish Crime Book of the Year) has been announced. The shortlisted titles were chosen by an independent panel of readers and will now go on to a judging panel. Sitting on the judging panel for 2015 are Magnus Linklater, journalist and former newspaper editor, writer and broadcaster Sally Magnusson, and Caron Macpherson of Waterstones Argyle Street. The winning book will be announced...

Read the full article >>


Posted by Louise Phillips on 26 July 2015.

We have an *exclusive* sneak peak of the cover of The Girl Who Broke the Rules  by the lovely Marnie Riches!! It is the latest book in  the ‘The Girl Who’ series by award winning Marnie Riches, described as a pulse-pounding new thriller, and an incredible read… The cover is slick, sexy, dark and urban…… Writing.ie is delighted to be one of the select few to be given an advance preview of this new cover… And...

Read the full article >>

Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Festival – The Winners

Posted by Louise Phillips on 20 July 2015.

    Authors Ann Cleeves and Peter James and newcomer Paula Hawkins were among the winners of the inaugural Dead Good Reader Awards. The awards, given out on Friday 17th July at the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate, were voted on by readers and members of Penguin Random House’s crime community Dead Good Books. The awards were presented by Mark Lawson and authors Lee Child and Val McDermid, the latter of whom...

Read the full article >>

Your genre chooses you, instead of the other way around!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 8 July 2015.

It is always wonderful to hear about an author’s writing journey, especially debut authors, and crime authors at that!! Put on the kettle and enjoy Kelly Creighton’s story! * * * * * I never saw myself as a crime writer. To begin with all I wanted to do was write a book; it was a personal challenge I’d set myself after not writing at all for ten years. Looking back, maybe it would have...

Read the full article >>

Irish Crime Novels July 2015

Posted by Louise Phillips on 2 July 2015.

Irish Crime Novel Publications July 2015 2nd July – Sinead Crowley ‘Are you Watching Me?’   7th July – Ken Bruen ‘Green Hell’   26th July – John Mc Allister ‘Barlow by The Book’     30th July – Jax Miller ‘Freedom’s Child’   30th July – Jane Casey ‘Hide & Seek’

The Ruth Rendell Short Story Competition now open for entries

Posted by Louise Phillips on 25 June 2015.

The Ruth Rendell Short Story Competition 2015 Monday 22nd June sees the launch of the fifth Ruth Rendell Short Story Competition. The challenge for writers is to write a piece in any genre in no more than 1000 words. The winner of the competition will receive £1000 and will be commissioned to write four further stories for InterAct over the course of one year. The closing date for submissions is Thursday 29 October 2015, World...

Read the full article >>

Shortlist Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel – Harrogate

Posted by Louise Phillips on 15 June 2015.

  The shortlist for crime writing’s most wanted accolade, the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year, has been announced. Celebrating its eleventh year, the Awards feature six titles whittled down from a longlist of 18 crime novels published by British and Irish authors over the last year. The 2015 Award is run in partnership with T&R Theakston Ltd, WHSmith, and Radio Times. Three of the shortlist are debut crime novels. Antonia Hodgson’s debut,...

Read the full article >>