• www.inkwellwriters.ie

Guest Blogs

A blog by Louise Phillips

LOUISE PHILLIPS is the author of four bestselling psychological crime thrillers. Her debut novel RED RIBBONS, and her subsequent novels, THE DOLL’S HOUSE, LAST KISS and THE GAME CHANGER, were each nominated for Best Irish Crime Novel of the Year. She won the award in 2013. Louise’s work has formed part of many literary anthologies, and she has won both the Jonathan Swift Award and the Irish Writers’ Centre Lonely Voice platform, along with being shortlisted for the Molly Keane Memorial Award, Bridport UK, and many others. In 2015, she was awarded a writing residency at Cill Rialaig Artist retreat and she was also a judge on the Irish panel for the EU Literary Award. In 2016, she was longlisted for the prestigious CWA Dagger in the Library Award, and her first two novels, RED RIBBONS and THE DOLL'S HOUSE, were published in the US. She has recently been awarded an Arts Bursary for Literature from the Arts Council of Ireland, and her latest novel, THE HIDING GAME, will be published on September 5th 2019. Louise Phillips is the crime writing mastermind behind writing.ie's Crime Scene blog.

You can follow Louise online, on Twitter and on Facebook.

Paramount Pictures acquires film rights for The Chain!!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 4 July 2019.

Irish author, Adrian McKinty, will appear as part of Murder One Festival (http://www.murderone.ie/tag/adrian-mckinty/) in Dublin on the 23rd July 2019, where he’ll be interviewed by Steve Cavanagh. McKinty’s lastest news is however a great ‘rags to riches’ story! Paramount Pictures has acquired the screen rights to McKinty’s latest novel The Chain in a deal that will generate a guaranteed low-seven-figure payday for the author. The Chain tells the story of Rachel, whose 11-year-old daughter is kidnapped, and the...

Read the full article >>

Joining the Crime Family!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 27 June 2019.

Firstly, huge thanks to Louise for having me guest on her blog. After being asked, I must admit, the nerves did set in a bit. I mean, a guest blog for writing.ie and being hosted by a writer that I hugely admire, no pressure at all right!! So what was I going to write about? Yes, it’s true that I’m currently on the promotion trail for Book 2 in the Terror Trilogy, but I didn’t...

Read the full article >>

A Magic Moment!!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 13 June 2019.

DRUM ROLL…or something like that, so excited to REVEAL the cover of THE HIDING GAME… Publication date September 5th…. And this it is such a Magic Moment for me…. Many thanks to all the amazing writers who said such lovely things about The Hiding Game….See below..   “A young girl on trial, a twenty-five-year-old murder, and a small town willing to do anything to keep its secrets safe…”   Early praise for THE HIDING GAME...

Read the full article >>

Karin Slaughter in Conversation with Sinead Crowley!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 6 June 2019.

Look who is coming next for Midsummer Murder One! The incredible Karin Slaughter will be in Dublin on 13th June. If you’re interested in the event, you can book now at www.murderone.ie to hear her chat with Sinead Crowley about how her latest book, The Last Widow, came together!


Posted by Louise Phillips on 29 May 2019.

  Hi everyone, I’m delighted to make a splash with this GREAT NEWS…..I’ve signed another 2 Book Deal with Hachette!!! Roll on lots of lovely words in the future……🙂 Cover reveal for my new novel THE HIDING GAME to follow…..Watch this space!

The Shortlist for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year!!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 21 May 2019.

Huge congratulations to Steve Cavanagh as the Irish voice on this list (Thirteen is a superb book) and to Khurrum Rahman for being shortlisted for a first novel – fantastic news! Shortlist: Belinda Bauer – Snap Steve Cavanagh – Thirteen Mick Herron – London Rules Val McDermid – Broken Ground Liam McIlvanney – The Quaker Khurrum Rahman – East of Hounslow The prize, now in its 15th year, was created to celebrate the very best in...

Read the full article >>

Library Conference Makes Noise at Leading Festival!!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 14 May 2019.

One of the UK’s leading literary festivals is hosting an inaugural Library Conference. Up to 100 library professionals from across the country are invited to attend the one-day event to be held at the 2019 Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival this July. Keynote speakers include chief executive of Arts Council England, Darren Henley OBE. Also speaking is leading crime author and advocate for libraries, Ann Cleeves, whose Vera and Shetlands series were adapted for...

Read the full article >>

Do you want to write a novel??

Posted by Louise Phillips on 4 May 2019.

If the answer to the above question is – YES, then maybe next week is the time to start! I’m delighted to join the great team at the Irish Writers Centre next week for an 8 Week Course duly titled – BEGIN YOUR NOVEL. If you want to start that novel you’ve been thinking about, then click on the link below for more information. I hope this course will set you on the exciting path...

Read the full article >>

Edgar Awards 2019 Winners!!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 1 May 2019.

The Edgar Award Winners and Nominees 2019 are as follows!! Best Novel                 The Liar’s Girl by Catherine Ryan Howard (Blackstone Publishing) House Witness by Mike Lawson (Grove Atlantic – Atlantic Monthly Press) A Gambler’s Jury by Victor Methos (Amazon Publishing – Thomas & Mercer) Down the River Unto the Sea by Walter Mosley (Hachette Book Group – Mulholland) Only to Sleep by Lawrence Osborne(Penguin Random House – Hogarth) A Treacherous Curse by Deanna Raybourn (Penguin Random House – Berkley) Winner: Down...

Read the full article >>


Posted by Louise Phillips on 18 April 2019.

2019 marks the 15th year of the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year award. The prize was created to celebrate the very best in crime fiction and is open to UK and Irish crime authors whose novels were published in paperback from 1 May 2018 to 30 April 2019. Belinda Bauer, a previous winner of the Crime Novel of the Year Award for her novel Rubbernecker in 2014, enters the longlist with her 2018 Man...

Read the full article >>