Guest Blogs

A blog by Louise Phillips

LOUISE PHILLIPS is the author of four bestselling psychological crime thrillers. Her debut novel RED RIBBONS, and her subsequent novels, THE DOLL’S HOUSE, LAST KISS and THE GAME CHANGER, were each nominated for Best Irish Crime Novel of the Year. She won the award in 2013. Louise’s work has formed part of many literary anthologies, and she has won both the Jonathan Swift Award and the Irish Writers’ Centre Lonely Voice platform, along with being shortlisted for the Molly Keane Memorial Award, Bridport UK, and many others. In 2015, she was awarded a writing residency at Cill Rialaig Artist retreat in Kerry and she was also a judge on the Irish panel for the EU Literary Award. Her current novel, THE GAME CHANGER, is available nationwide. In 2016, she was longlisted for the prestigious CWA Dagger in the Library Award, and her first novel, RED RIBBONS was published in the US. She was also awarded an Arts Bursary for Literature from the Arts Council of Ireland. In August, THE DOLL'S HOUSE, is due for publication in the US with Polis Books. Louise Phillips is the crime writing mastermind behind writing.ie's Crime Scene blog.

You can follow Louise online, on Twitter and on Facebook.

Why Writing Life doesn’t have to be lonely..

Posted by Louise Phillips on 31 July 2017.

I am delighted to have a special visitor to the Crime Scene blog today. Debut crime fiction author, Sharon Dempsey! Her novel, Little Bird is published this week, and I know Sharon and her novel very well at this point.   I started mentoring Sharon last year, and it was a pleasure every step of the way. Little Bird is a terrific novel, and with a description from the great Brian Mc Gilloway of ‘a dark...

Read the full article >>

Tana French Wins Strand Critics Award!!!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 24 July 2017.

At an invitation-only cocktail party in Manhattan, Tana French won the Strand Critics Award for Best Novel for The Trespasser (Viking Penguin). After being nominated a record five times for Best Novel, Tana French took home the top prize for The Trespasser which received rave reviews for blurring the lines between genre and literary fiction. In a statement read by her publicist Ben Petrone, French said: “I am honored and I really wish I were...

Read the full article >>

Boyle Arts Festival – Crime Writers Panel!!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 3 July 2017.

Join myself, Declan Burke, Andrea Carter & Arlene Hunt on the 22nd July for 2 hours of all things crime fiction – part of this year’s Boyle Arts Festival…..Time 5 p.m. – 7 p.m You can book the event on this link....HERE Louise Phillips is an author of four bestselling psychological crime thrillers, each shortlisted for Best Irish Crime Novel of the Year. Her second novel, “The Doll’s House”, won the award. She teaches creative writing at...

Read the full article >>

The Dead Good Readers Awards 2017

Posted by Louise Phillips on 13 June 2017.

The Dead Good Reader Awards 2017 Shortlist….. The shortlists are compiled of those authors who received the most nominations in each category. Now the power is back in your hands – it’s time to pick your winners. Does Helen Grace or Ruth Galloway get your vote for favourite fearless female? Is Ian Rankin or James Oswald your go-to for a cracking police procedural? And which book would you recommend above all others? Great to see so...

Read the full article >>


Posted by Louise Phillips on 1 June 2017.

A great event for crime fiction fans will take place shortly in Belfast, and I’m hugely looking forward to it. Declan Burke, award winning author,  journalist, reviewer and editor, will be hosting this event as part of Belfast Book Festival on June 10th. BBF17: TROUBLE IS OUR BUSINESS – NEW STORIES BY IRISH CRIME WRITERS – Declan Burke in conversation with three of the finest Irish crime writers out there, and who – no coincidence...

Read the full article >>

CWA Dagger Longlists Announced at Crimefest 2017!!!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 20 May 2017.

Congrats to all longlisted at the CWA Dagger Awards at Crimefest, including Irish authors, Catherine Ryan Howard, William Ryan, Michael Russell, Tana French and Andrew Hughes….. The CWA Gold Dagger The Beautiful Dead by Belinda Bauer (Bantam Press) Dead Man’s Blues by Ray Celestin (Mantle) The Girl Before by J P Delaney (Quercus) Desperation Road by Michael Farris Smith (No Exit Press) Little Deaths by Emma Flint (Picador) The Dry by Jane Harper (Little Brown)...

Read the full article >>

Virago/The Pool New Crime Writer Award!!!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 16 May 2017.

Sarah Savitt, Deputy Publisher at Virago, and Sam Baker, Co-Founder and CEO of The Pool, are thrilled to announce the Virago/The Pool New Crime Writer Award, a competition to find a superlative new female crime writer for Virago – and we want your entries! With the Virago/The Pool New Crime Writer Award we want to discover an exciting new female writer for the Virago list who is writing a suspenseful, intelligent, original crime or thriller...

Read the full article >>

Crimefest Awards Shortlists 2017

Posted by Louise Phillips on 11 May 2017.

CRIMEFEST AWARDS SHORTLISTS Congrats to Ken Bruen for his shortlisting with Jason Starr!!! Audible Sounds Of Crime The Audible Sounds of Crime Award is for the best unabridged crime audiobook first published in the UK in 2016 in both printed and audio formats, and available for download from audible.co.uk, Britain’s largest provider of downloadable audiobooks. Courtesy of sponsor Audible UK, the winning author and audiobook reader(s) share the £1,000 prize equally and each receives a Bristol...

Read the full article >>

Adrian Mc Kinty Wins Edgar Award 2017!!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 28 April 2017.

The 2017 Edgar® Winners and Nominees  BEST NOVEL The Ex by Alafair Burke (HarperCollins Publishers – Harper) Where It Hurts by Reed Farrel Coleman (Penguin Random House – G.P. Putnam’s Sons) Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye (Penguin Random House – G.P. Putnam’s Sons) What Remains of Me by Alison Gaylin (HarperCollins Publishers – William Morrow) WINNER: Before the Fall by Noah Hawley (Hachette Book Group – Grand Central Publishing) BEST FIRST NOVEL WINNER: Under the...

Read the full article >>

Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival – Harrogate 2017!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 17 April 2017.

The 2017 Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival Preview Guide, showcasing this year’s criminally good line-up, is now ready to view by clicking here. Dip into an intoxicating mix of heated debate and scintillating socialising. Be inspired and join in the drama at Agatha Christie’s old haunt, the luxurious Old Swan Hotel, where over 80 authors will gather from the 20th-23rd July. Known as the friendliest Festival with its feet firmly on Yorkshire ground, the Theakston...

Read the full article >>