• www.inkwellwriters.ie

Guest Blogs

A blog by Louise Phillips

LOUISE PHILLIPS is the bestselling author of five psychological crime thrillers. Her debut novel RED RIBBONS, and her subsequent Kate Pearson novels, THE DOLL’S HOUSE, LAST KISS and THE GAME CHANGER, were each nominated for Best Irish Crime Novel of the Year. She won the award in 2013. Louise’s work has formed part of many literary anthologies, and she has won both the Jonathan Swift Award and the Irish Writers’ Centre Lonely Voice platform, along with being shortlisted for the Molly Keane Memorial Award, Bridport UK, and many others. In 2015, she was awarded a writing residency at Cill Rialaig Artist retreat and she was also a judge on the Irish panel for the EU Literary Award. In 2016, she was longlisted for the prestigious CWA Dagger in the Library Award, and her first two novels, RED RIBBONS and THE DOLL'S HOUSE, were published in the US. She has recently been awarded an Arts Bursary for Literature from the Arts Council of Ireland, and her latest novel, THE HIDING GAME was published on September 5th 2019. It was shortlisted in the Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards 2019. Louise Phillips is the crime writing mastermind behind writing.ie's Crime Scene blog.

You can follow Louise online, on Twitter and on Facebook.

CWA Dagger Longlists Announced at Crimefest 2017!!!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 20 May 2017.

Congrats to all longlisted at the CWA Dagger Awards at Crimefest, including Irish authors, Catherine Ryan Howard, William Ryan, Michael Russell, Tana French and Andrew Hughes….. The CWA Gold Dagger The Beautiful Dead by Belinda Bauer (Bantam Press) Dead Man’s Blues by Ray Celestin (Mantle) The Girl Before by J P Delaney (Quercus) Desperation Road by Michael Farris Smith (No Exit Press) Little Deaths by Emma Flint (Picador) The Dry by Jane Harper (Little Brown)...

Read the full article >>

Virago/The Pool New Crime Writer Award!!!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 16 May 2017.

Sarah Savitt, Deputy Publisher at Virago, and Sam Baker, Co-Founder and CEO of The Pool, are thrilled to announce the Virago/The Pool New Crime Writer Award, a competition to find a superlative new female crime writer for Virago – and we want your entries! With the Virago/The Pool New Crime Writer Award we want to discover an exciting new female writer for the Virago list who is writing a suspenseful, intelligent, original crime or thriller...

Read the full article >>

Crimefest Awards Shortlists 2017

Posted by Louise Phillips on 11 May 2017.

CRIMEFEST AWARDS SHORTLISTS Congrats to Ken Bruen for his shortlisting with Jason Starr!!! Audible Sounds Of Crime The Audible Sounds of Crime Award is for the best unabridged crime audiobook first published in the UK in 2016 in both printed and audio formats, and available for download from audible.co.uk, Britain’s largest provider of downloadable audiobooks. Courtesy of sponsor Audible UK, the winning author and audiobook reader(s) share the £1,000 prize equally and each receives a Bristol...

Read the full article >>

Adrian Mc Kinty Wins Edgar Award 2017!!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 28 April 2017.

The 2017 Edgar® Winners and Nominees  BEST NOVEL The Ex by Alafair Burke (HarperCollins Publishers – Harper) Where It Hurts by Reed Farrel Coleman (Penguin Random House – G.P. Putnam’s Sons) Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye (Penguin Random House – G.P. Putnam’s Sons) What Remains of Me by Alison Gaylin (HarperCollins Publishers – William Morrow) WINNER: Before the Fall by Noah Hawley (Hachette Book Group – Grand Central Publishing) BEST FIRST NOVEL WINNER: Under the...

Read the full article >>

Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival – Harrogate 2017!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 17 April 2017.

The 2017 Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival Preview Guide, showcasing this year’s criminally good line-up, is now ready to view by clicking here. Dip into an intoxicating mix of heated debate and scintillating socialising. Be inspired and join in the drama at Agatha Christie’s old haunt, the luxurious Old Swan Hotel, where over 80 authors will gather from the 20th-23rd July. Known as the friendliest Festival with its feet firmly on Yorkshire ground, the Theakston...

Read the full article >>

Networks and Connections in the Crime Genre!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 29 March 2017.

International Crime Genre Research Group 7th biennial conference:   Dates: 26th – 27th May 2017 Place: NUI Galway Networks in crime and in crime detection: Criminal gangs, people trafficking, drug cartels The movement and influence of global capital Cybercrime and hacking Collaboration between national police forces in investigating crime Political corruption Collaboration between repressive state apparatuses Terrorism and counter-terrorism Transnational links Mobility: Ease with which the modern criminal and detective can cross national boundaries Diaspora...

Read the full article >>

Crimefest 2017!!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 2 March 2017.

It’s coming up to that time of the year again, and booking for this crime fiction festival is best done well in advance, especially if you’re travelling some distance, as accommodation gets swallowed up fast. For full programme you can visit HERE  But here are some of the things happening over the course of the festival…. CRIME WRITING DAY On Friday, 19 May, CRIMEFEST presents a CRIME WRITING DAY that will help aspiring crime authors...

Read the full article >>

CWA Dagger in the Library Longlist Announced!!!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 7 February 2017.

Congrats to fellow Irish Crime authors Brian Mc Gilloway and Tana French for being longlisted in the CWA Dagger in the Library Award!! The CWA Dagger in the Library Award, is a UK prize for a crime writer whose body of work appeals to users of libraries and reading groups. In order to be eligible for nomination for the prize a writer must have had published at least four novels in the crime fiction genre which...

Read the full article >>

Begin your Novel with Louise Phillips – Irish Writers Centre

Posted by Louise Phillips on 23 January 2017.

Places are booking up fast for my ‘Begin Your Novel’ course in February. If you’re interested in doing this course at the Irish Writers Centre, either book online HERE, or contact the centre at (01) 872 1302, or alternatively, email, info@writerscentre.ie I will be doing a taster course this coming Saturday which is already FULLY BOOKED, and this may result in additional pressure on places!!! So get booking, or express your interest via the centre,...

Read the full article >>

Edgar Award Nominees 2017!!

Posted by Louise Phillips on 19 January 2017.

MWA Announces the 2017 Edgar Nominations January 19, 2017, New York, NY – Mystery Writers of America announce the Nominees for the 2017 Edgar Allan Poe Awards. The Edgar Awards will be presented to the winners at our 71st Gala Banquet, April 27, 2017 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel, New York City. And the nominees are: BEST NOVEL The Ex by Alafair Burke (HarperCollins Publishers – Harper) Where It Hurts by Reed Farrel Coleman (Penguin...

Read the full article >>