Applications for the London Library Emerging Writers Programme | Guest Bloggers | From the Front Row Team Blog

Application deadline 28th February 2024

Applications for the 2024/25 London Library Emerging Writers Programme are now open!

The London Library Emerging Writers Programme, now entering its sixth year, is a unique opportunity which offers writers, in all genres and disciplines, one year’s free membership of The London Library and includes writing development masterclasses, networking opportunities, peer support, access to and guidance in using all the Library’s resources and publication in the cohort anthology. With its rich cultural heritage, extensive open access book collection, dedicated writing spaces and its diverse community of established writers, the benefits of Library membership are invaluable.

For over 180 years The London Library has played a central role in inspiring writers and researchers, helping them explore and develop their work. From Charles Dickens to Sarah Waters, Charles Darwin to Simon Schama, Virginia Woolf to Kazuo lshiguro, Bram Stoker to Jessie Burton, T S Eliot to Raymond Antrobus, writers have found it to be an unrivalled resource. Previous members of The London Library Emerging Writers Programme have gone on to find agents, publishers and have had work produced for stage, screen and radio. See below for more information on previous cohorts.

The London Library Emerging Writers Programme is open to anyone over 16 years of age who is committed to pursuing a career in writing and wants to develop their practice. Applicants should be working, or planning to work, on a specific project, with the aim of publication or production, and have a clear idea of how they might use the Library’s resources to achieve that aim. They should be willing to fully participate in all elements of the Programme and immerse themselves in the writing community it offers. There is no application fee and participation on the Programme is funded.

Applicants will be selected anonymously by a panel of judges including crime writer, poet, short story writer, self-help author and screenwriter Sophie Hannah (Little Face, The Monogram Murders, Pessimism for Beginners, How to Hold a Grudge, The Mystery of Mr E), playwright, poet and non-fiction writer Sabrina Mahfouz (A History of Water in the Middle EastThese Bodies of Water, How You Might Know Me), novelist and non-fiction writer Amber Medland (Wild Pets, Attention Seeker), novelist, poet, publisher and children’s writer Nii Ayikwei Parkes (The Geez, Tail of the Blue Bird, Azúcar), novelist, short story writer and literary critic Chris Power (Mothers, A Lonely Man) and Lutyens and Rubinstein literary agents Jenny Hewson and Jane Finigan. 

Applications close at 11am on Wednesday 28 February 2024. 

Please read through the following Application Guidelines (including eligibility requirements) carefully before you submit your application. Applications which do not follow the guidelines will not be considered.

You can find a comprehensive set of FAQs here. If you still have any questions regarding your application, please contact the Programme Team at

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books