• www.inkwellwriters.ie

Guest Blogs

CWA 2018 Shortlists!!!

Article by Louise Phillips © 4 August 2018.
Posted in Guest Blogs ().

The Crime Writers’ Association has just announced the 2018 shortlists for the Daggers awards!!

The Crime Writers Association was established in 1953 by crime writer John Creasey. Each year, the Daggers are awarded across 10 categories. With the exception of the Diamond Dagger, the Debut Dagger and the Dagger in the Library, all the books are nominated by publishers.

The Diamond Dagger is awarded to an author who has made an outstanding contribution to crime fiction. The Diamond Dagger is nominated by the CWA members. Bestselling author Michael Connelly was announced as the 2018 winner earlier this year. The rest of the winners will be announced at an award dinner in London on 25 October.

See Shortlists below!!!

The CWA Gold Dagger 2018 Shortlist

Author Title Publisher
Steve Cavanagh The Liar Orion
Mick Herron London Rules John Murray
Dennis Lehane Since We Fell Little Brown
Attica Locke Bluebird, Bluebird Serpent’s Tail
Abir Mukherjee A Necessary Evil Harvill Secker
Emma Viskic Resurrection Bay Pushkin Vertigo


The Ian Fleming Steel Dagger 2018 Shortlist

Author Title Publisher
Mick Herron London Rules John Murray Publishers
Emily Koch If I Die Before I Wake Harvill Secker
Attica Locke Bluebird, Bluebird Serpent’s Tail
Colette McBeth An Act of Silence Wildfire
C J Tudor The Chalk Man Michael Joseph
Don Winslow The Force HarperFiction


The John Creasey Debut Dagger 2018 Shortlist

Author Title Publisher
William Boyle Gravesend No Exit Press
Joe Ide I.Q. Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Danya Kukafka Girl In Snow Picador
Melissa Scrivner Love Lola Point Blank
Khurrum Rahman East Of Hounslow HQ
Emma Viskic Resurrection Bay Pushkin Vertigo


International Dagger 2018 Shortlist

Title Author Translated by Publisher
Zen and the Art of Murder Oliver Bottini Jamie Bulloch MacLehose
Three Days and a Life Pierre Lemaitre Frank Wynne MacLehose
After the Fire Henning Mankell Marlaine Delargy Harvill Secker
The Frozen Woman Jon Michelet Don Bartlett No Exit Press
Offering to the Storm Dolores Redondo Nick Caistor & Lorenza Garzía HarperCollins
The Accordionist Fred Vargas Sian Reynolds Harvill Secker


Dagger In The Library 2018 Shortlist

Martin Edwards
Nicci French
Edward Marston
Peter May
Rebecca Tope
Simon Kernick


For Full List of Dagger Shortlist Visit HERE

Follow Louise online, on Twitter and on Facebook.

LOUISE PHILLIPS is the author of four bestselling psychological crime thrillers. Her debut novel RED RIBBONS, and her subsequent novels, THE DOLL’S HOUSE, LAST KISS and THE GAME CHANGER, were each nominated for Best Irish Crime Novel of the Year. She won the award in 2013. Louise’s work has formed part of many literary anthologies, and she has won both the Jonathan Swift Award and the Irish Writers’ Centre Lonely Voice platform, along with being shortlisted for the Molly Keane Memorial Award, Bridport UK, and many others. In 2015, she was awarded a writing residency at Cill Rialaig Artist retreat and she was also a judge on the Irish panel for the EU Literary Award. In 2016, she was longlisted for the prestigious CWA Dagger in the Library Award, and her first two novels, RED RIBBONS and THE DOLL'S HOUSE, were published in the US. She has recently been awarded an Arts Bursary for Literature from the Arts Council of Ireland, and her latest novel, THE HIDING GAME, will be published on September 5th 2019. Louise Phillips is the crime writing mastermind behind writing.ie's Crime Scene blog.