• www.inkwellwriters.ie

Enter the McKitterick Prize: Deadline 31st October 2020

Writing.ie | Guest Bloggers | From the Front Row

Vanessa Fox O'Loughlin

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Competition Deadline: 31 October 2020

The McKitterick Prize is given annually to an author over the age of 40 for a first novel, published or unpublished.

This year’s McKitterick Prize was won by Claire Adam for Golden Child. The runner-up was Taffy Brodesser-Akner for Fleishman is in Trouble. Watch the announcement here and watch the conversation with authors Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott, McKitterick shortlistees Claire Adam; Sara Collins (The Confessions of Frannie Langton) and Regina Porter (The Travelers) on celebrating debut novelists over the age of 40.

The deadline for the 2021 McKitterick Prize is 31 October, 5pm (GMT).

Terms and Conditions

  • Applicants must be living and over the age of 40 on the 31 October 2020
  • Applicants must not have had any other novel published (excluding works for children)
  • Submissions must be a full length novel in the English language by one author
  • Submissions must be a work of ‘fiction or imagination or substantially of fiction or imagination’
  • Submissions must either have been published in the UK between 1 Jan 2020 and 31 October 2020 (and not first published abroad) or unpublished
  • If unpublished, the work must not have been previously submitted to the McKitterick Prize

Read the awards FAQs here. For any queries relating to the prize, please contact prizes@societyofauthors.org.

  • allianceindependentauthors.org
  • www.designforwriters.com

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from writing.ie delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books