• www.inkwellwriters.ie

Irish Success at 2012 Crimefest

Writing.ie | Guest Bloggers | Crime Scene

Louise Phillips

Since CRIMEFEST began in June 2008, it has quickly become one of the most popular dates in the crime fiction calendar. The annual convention draws top crime novelists, readers, editors, publishers and reviewers from around the world and gives delegates the opportunity to celebrate the genre in an informal atmosphere.

At the annual Crime Fest Gala Dinner , the winners in the various categories are announced. This year’s Gala Dinner took place on the 25th May in Bristol, and the fab Declan Burke won the Last Laugh Award for his novel Absolute Zero Cool. beating amongst others, one of the most highly respected and prolific stalwarts of crime writing,  Elmore Leonard.

Declan told writing.ie “I’m still a little stunned by it all, to be honest. Absolute Zero Cool had been shortlisted before, at the Irish Book Awards, and hadn’t won, so I was expecting a similar result, especially given the calibre of the shortlist. As I said on the night, it restores my faith in publishing that a book about a hospital porter blowing up his hospital can not only be considered a comic crime novel, but a prize-winning one too.”

(For details of Crimefest 2013 – check out link above)

Find out what Declan had to say about winning the Award at his blog Crime Always Pays HERE

Find full details of the awards and the nominees below:



The Last Laugh Award is for the best humorous crime novel first published in the British Isles in 2011. The £500 prize is sponsored by Goldsboro Books, the book collector’s bookseller. The winner also receives a commemorative award courtesy of Bristol Blue Glass.

Nominees: – Declan Burke for Absolute Zero Cool (Liberties Press) – WINNER! – Colin Cotterill for Killed at the Whim of a Hat (Quercus) – Chris Ewan for The Good Thief’s Guide to Venice (Simon & Schuster) – Christopher Fowler for Bryant & May and the Memory of Blood (Doubleday) – Carl Hiaasen for Star Island (Sphere) – Doug Johnstone for Smokeheads (Faber and Faber) – Elmore Leonard for Djibouti (Weidenfeld & Nicolson) – L.C. Tyler for Herring on the Nile (Macmillan)

Eligible titles were submitted by publishers for the longlist, and a team of British crime fiction reviewers voted to establish the shortlist and the winning title.


The eDunnit Award is for the best crime fiction ebook first published in both hardcopy and in electronic format in the British Isles in 2011. The winning author receives £500, an eReader, as well as a commemorative award courtesy of Bristol Blue Glass.

Nominees: – Linwood Barclay for The Accident (Orion) – Thomas Enger for Burned (Faber and Faber) – Dennis Lehane for Moonlight Mile (Little, Brown Book Group) – Adrian Magson for Death on the Rive Nord (Allison & Busby) – Denise Mina for The End of the Wasp Season (Orion) – WINNER! – Steve Mosby for Black Flowers (Orion) – George Pelecanos for The Cut (Orion) Eligible titles were submitted by publishers for the longlist, and a team of British crime fiction reviewers voted to establish the shortlist and the winning title.


The Audible Sounds of Crime Awards are for the best abridged and unabridged crime audiobooks first published in the UK in 2011 in both printed and audio formats, and available for download from audible.co.uk, Britain’s largest provider of downloadable audiobooks. Courtesy of sponsor Audible UK, the winning authors and audiobook readers share the £1,000 prize equally and each receives a commemorative award provided by Bristol Blue Glass.

Nominees for Best Abridged Crime Audiobook: – Lee Child for The Affair, read by Kerry Shale (Random House Audiobooks) – WINNER! – James Henry for First Frost, read by David Jason (Random House Audiobooks) – Simon Kernick for The Payback, read by Daniel Weyman (Random House Audiobooks) – Donna Leon for Drawing Conclusions, read by Andrew Sachs (Random House Audiobooks) – Alexander McCall Smith for The Saturday Big Tent Wedding Party, read by Adjoa Andoh (Hachette Digital)

Nominees for Best Unabridged Crime Audiobook: – Ben Aaronovitch for Rivers of London, read by Kobna Holdbrook-Smith (Orion Audio with Isis Publishing) – Michael Connelly for The Fifth Witness, read by Peter Giles (Orion Audio) – David Hewson for The Fallen Angel, read by Saul Reichlin (Whole Story Audio Books) – Anthony Horowitz for The House of Silk, read by Derek Jacobi (Orion Audio) – S. J. Watson for Before I Go To Sleep, read by Susannah Harker (Random House Audio with AudioGO) – WINNER!

Eligible titles were submitted by publishers for the longlist, and Audible UK listeners established the shortlist and the winning title.

  • www.designforwriters.com
  • allianceindependentauthors.org

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from writing.ie delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books