• www.inkitt.com

Guest Blogs

Ken Bruen to Receive the iBAM 2016 Literature Award

Article by Louise Phillips © 28 June 2016.
Posted in Guest Blogs ().

Ken Bruen 1

Mystery writer Ken Bruen is the 2016 iBAM Awardee for Literature, and he will receive his award at the iBAM Gala Awards Dinner, October 14th in the Irish American Heritage Center.

Announcement from iBAM –
Ken has written over 50 books and is one of the most prominent Irish crime writers of the last two decades. Born in Galway in 1951, he spent twenty-five years traveling the world before he began writing in the mid 1990’s. As an English teacher, Bruen worked in South Africa, Japan, and South America, where he once spent a short time in a Brazilian jail. He has two long-running series: one starring a disgraced former policeman named Jack Taylor, the other a London police detective named Inspector Brant.

Praised for their sharp insight into the darker side of today’s prosperous Ireland, Bruen’s novels are marked by grim atmosphere and clipped prose. Among the best known are his White Trilogy (1998-2000) and The Guards (2001), the Shamus award-winning first novel in the Jack Taylor series. The next Jack Taylor novel, Green Hell, will be released by Mysterious Press/Grove Atlantic in July 2015.

Praise for Ken Bruen and the Jack Taylor series:
“The things Jack witnesses these days . . . would cause a saint to go blind. And Jack, whose heroism is fueled by ‘plain old-fashioned rage, bile and bitterness,’ is no saint. Never was, never will be. Amen.” —New York Times Book Review, on Purgatory

“Bruen is an original, grimly hilarious and gloriously Irish.” —Washington Post, on The Guards

“Bruen’s books are known for their dark, brutal humor laced with a crisp dialogue . . . A favorite in Ireland and the U.K., Bruen is threatening to become a mass cult figure in the U.S. as well as a critical favorite.” —Atlantic, on Headstone

“A brilliant, lyrical, deeply moving writer. . . If you like Ian Rankin, Dennis Lehane, Pelecanos, and the like, Bruen is definitely a writer to reckon with.” —Denver Post, on The Guards

“Bruen’s voice is unmistakable: finely chiseled paragraphs that more closely resemble verse than prose . . . Bruen is among the most original and innovative noir voices of the last two decades.”

—Los Angeles Review of Books, on Headstone
“Bruen’s writing is unique, quirky and as hard-boiled as they come.”
—Cleveland Plain Dealer, on Headstone

Follow Louise online, on Twitter and on Facebook.

LOUISE PHILLIPS is the author of four bestselling psychological crime thrillers. Her debut novel RED RIBBONS, and her subsequent novels, THE DOLL’S HOUSE, LAST KISS and THE GAME CHANGER, were each nominated for Best Irish Crime Novel of the Year. She won the award in 2013. Louise’s work has formed part of many literary anthologies, and she has won both the Jonathan Swift Award and the Irish Writers’ Centre Lonely Voice platform, along with being shortlisted for the Molly Keane Memorial Award, Bridport UK, and many others. In 2015, she was awarded a writing residency at Cill Rialaig Artist retreat and she was also a judge on the Irish panel for the EU Literary Award. In 2016, she was longlisted for the prestigious CWA Dagger in the Library Award, and her first two novels, RED RIBBONS and THE DOLL'S HOUSE, were published in the US. She has recently been awarded an Arts Bursary for Literature from the Arts Council of Ireland, and her latest novel, THE HIDING GAME, will be published on September 5th 2019. Louise Phillips is the crime writing mastermind behind writing.ie's Crime Scene blog.