• West Cork Literary Festival 8-15 July 2022

Shortlist Announced for 2022 Kate O’Brien Award

Writing.ie | Guest Bloggers | Wordspark


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

The shortlist has been announced for this year’s Kate O’Brien Award for the best debut novel or short story collection by an Irish female writer.

The winner of the €2,000 prize sponsored by Bill and Denise Whelan will be announced at the Limerick Literary Festival on February 27th.

The shortlist is: Dinner Party by Sarah Gilmartin; The End of the World is a Cul De Sac by Louise Kennedy; Mother Mother by Annie Macmanus; The Crooked Tree by Una Mannion; Holding Her Breath by Eimear Ryan; and Boys Don’t Cry by Fiona Scarlett.

The judges are Marie Hackett, Eileen O’Connor, Vivienne McKechnie, Donal Ryan, Sarah Moore Fitzgerald and Niall MacMonagle. Previous winners are Anyush by Martine Madden (2015); Sara Baume with Spill Simmer Falter Wither (2016); Tanya Farrelly with When Black Dogs Sing (2017); Lisa Harding’s Harvesting (2018); Sue Rainsford’s Follow Me to Ground (2019); Show Them a Good Time by Nicole Flattery (2020); and As You Were by Elaine Feeney (2021).

  • www.designforwriters.com
  • allianceindependentauthors.org

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from writing.ie delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books