• www.inkwellwriters.ie

Shortlist Announced for AISAA Creative Writing Competition

Writing.ie | Guest Bloggers | From the Front Row

Vanessa Fox O'Loughlin

All four provinces will be represented in the 2022 All Ireland Scholarships Alumni Association Creative Writing Competition as eight candidates from across Ireland were shortlisted this week for the final on Tuesday, 1st March.

The competition, in its second year and open to all members of the Alumni Association, began in October, featured a virtual Creative Writing Workshop hosted by the judges in November and closed for entries on 9th January for the selection process.

Listed below in alphabetical order are the eight All Ireland Scholars, whose submissions have been chosen for the final:

  • Aida Izydorczyk, 2015 Scholarship recipient, from Roscrea, Co. Tipperary
  • Claire O’Brien, 2010 Scholarship recipient, from Ballincollig, Co. Cork
  • Emma Corcoran, 2011 Scholarship recipient, from Ferbane, Co. Offaly
  • James John O’Connor, 2019 Scholarship recipient, from Newtownforbes, Co. Longford
  • Joanne Byrne, 2013 Scholarship recipient, from Gorey, Co. Wexford
  • Katie Lockhart, 2015 Scholarship recipient, from Lisburn, Co. Antrim
  • Romana Semler, 2011 Scholarship recipient, from Carrick-on-Shannon, Co. Leitrim
  • Sinead Greenan, 2010 Scholarship recipient, from Cootehill, Co. Cavan

Entrants could submit up to three stories of 2,000 words or less each in fiction and non-fiction categories based on any theme or subject matter. Non-fiction pieces such as a memoir, autofiction and bio-fiction were also welcome.

The judging panel, chaired by Professor Sarah Moore Fitzgerald of University of Limerick (UL), includes Ireland’s first Prix Jean Monnet winner, Donal Ryan, acclaimed writer Kerri ní Dochartaigh and poet Alice Kinsella, the 2021 competition winner.

Author of six novels and Professor of Teaching and Learning at UL, Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, said: “This competition uncovers and celebrates exceptional creative talent among AIS alumni. I’m delighted to be involved; working with a panel of among Ireland’s leading writers to discover more creative voices and stories.”

Prix Jean Monnet and multi-award-winning author, Donal Ryan, said: “The written word is one of the greatest ways we have of sharing human experience with one another. Whether fact or fiction, creative writing shines a light on something that might otherwise go unnoticed.” 

The overall winner and three runners-up will be announced on Tuesday, 1st March 2022. 

See here for further information.

  • allianceindependentauthors.org
  • www.designforwriters.com

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from writing.ie delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books