• www.inkitt.com

Six Titles Up For ‘An Post Irish Book of the Year Award’ 2021

Writing.ie | Guest Bloggers | From the Front Row

Vanessa Fox O'Loughlin

Books by Maureen Gaffney, David King, Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen, Séamas O’Reilly, Fintan O’Toole and Sally Rooney have been nominated for the ‘An Post Irish Book of the Year 2021’. The six titles competing for the accolade were category winners from the recent An Post Irish Book Awards and, given the sheer volume of votes each book has so far received from the public vote and the Academy, they are now finalists for the overall ‘An Post Irish Book of the Year 2021’. The overall ‘An Post Irish Book of the Year 2021’ winner will be decided by an executive panel of judges, while the strength of the public vote will also be taken into consideration. Public voting is now open at www.anpostirishbookawards.ie/botyvote. All voters are in with a chance of winning €100 worth of National Book Tokens. One of the six nominated titles will be revealed as the ‘An Post Irish Book of the Year 2021’ during a special one-hour television show hosted by Oliver Callan on RTÉ One on Wednesday 8 December at 10:35pm. The six nominated titles are: •             Your One Wild and Precious Life – Maureen Gaffney •             A Hug For You – David King •             Aisling and the City – Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen •             Did Ye Hear Mammy Died? – Séamas O’Reilly •             We Don’t Know Ourselves: A Personal History of Ireland Since 1958 – Fintan O’Toole •             Beautiful World, Where Are You? – Sally Rooney Commenting on this year’s nominees, David McRedmond, CEO of An Postsaid“The variety of titles nominated for the overall 2021 An Post Irish Book of the Year Award demonstrates the great breadth and diversity of reading interests across Ireland in these monotone Covid times.” Previous winners of the An Post Irish Book of the Year include Doireann Ni Ghriofa for A Ghost in the Throat, Vicky Phelan for Overcoming, Emilie Pine for Notes to Self, John Crowley, Donal Ó Drisceoil, Mike Murphy, and John Borgonovo for Atlas of the Irish Revolution, Mike McCormack for Solar Bones, Louise O’Neill for Asking For It, Mary Costello for Academy St, Donal Ryan for The Spinning Heart, Michael Harding for Staring at Lakes, and Belinda McKeon for Solace. The ‘An Post Irish Book of the Year’ public vote is sponsored by National Book Tokens. Tune into RTÉ One at 10:35pm on Wednesday 8th December to find out who wins the An Post Irish Book of the Year 2021.
  • allianceindependentauthors.org
  • www.designforwriters.com

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from writing.ie delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books