• www.inkitt.com

Guest Blogs

Submissions open for the Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards 2020

Article by ERMurray © 27 September 2019.
Posted in Guest Blogs ().

Submissions deadline: 4th October 2019

The Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards exist to celebrate this most exciting of genres and seek to celebrate the best travel writing, and travel writers, in the world.

The Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards 2020 are now open to submissions from publishers, the winners of which will be announced at a reception event at the end of February 2020.

Publishers across the UK and Ireland are invited to submit titles for consideration for the various categories.

All booksellers and libraries participate by mounting displays during the shortlist and winner periods – free point of sale packs will be produced.

Award categories:

– Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year Award, in association with the Authors’ Club
– Edward Stanford Award for Outstanding Contribution to Travel Writing (no submissions required)
– Children’s Travel Book of the Year
– Photography Travel Book of the Year
– Illustrated Travel Book of the Year
– Travel Cookery Book of the Year
– Fiction, with a Sense of Place
– Travel Memoir of the Year
– Debut Travel Writer of the Year
– Adventure Travel Book of the Year
– Bradt Travel Guides New Travel Writer of the Year (award administered by Bradt Travel Guides)

Key dates:
Submissions close – 4th October 2019
Submissions close for the Bradt Travel Guides New Travel Writer of the Year – 6th October 2019
Shortlist launch – 10th December 2019
Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards ceremony – 20th February TBC

Book publication dates:
Books first published 16th November 2018 – 15th November 2019 are eligible for the 2020 awards.

Book titles submitted should be available in print in the UK by November 15th 2019. 

Follow Elizabeth online, on Twitter and on Facebook.

Elizabeth Rose Murray lives in West Cork where she writes, fishes, and grows her own vegetables. Her first book for young adults Caramel Hearts (Alma Books) was published June 2016. Her debut novel for children aged 10-12, The Book of Learning - Nine Lives Trilogy 1 (Mercier Press) was chosen as the 2016 Dublin UNESCO City of Literature Citywide Read for Children and the follow-up The Book of Shadows - Nine Lives Trilogy 2 was shortlisted for the 2016 Irish Book Awards. The final installment The Book of Revenge will be published in February 2018.

Elizabeth has poetry and short fiction published in journals across the UK and Ireland - including Ogham Stone, Southword, South Circular, Esc and 3am - and has been shortlisted in various competitions including TV3AM Short Story, Francis MacManus, and Aesthetica Creative Works. She has also performed in Ciudades Paralelas: Station - a live writing installation.

Hoping to encourage new writers, Elizabeth provides manuscript reports and online writing courses through Inkwell Writers and Big Smoke Writing Factory. She is a regular at literary festivals, and offers adult workshops on writing for children and young adults, as well as multiple events and workshops for children and teens.

You can connect with Elizabeth on Twitter @ERMurray, Facebook www.facebook.com/ERMurray.Author or her blog www.ermurray.com