The Moth Poetry Prize 2023 | Guest Bloggers | Poetic Licence

Ben Simmons

The Moth Poetry Prize is one of the biggest prizes in the world for a single unpublished poem. The prize is open to anyone, as long as the poem is previously unpublished, and each year it attracts thousands of entries from new and established poets from over 50 countries worldwide. The four shortlisted poems appear in the Irish Times online, and the overall winner will be announced in the spring of 2024.

The prize is judged anonymously by a single poet. Past judges include Claudia Rankine, Billy Collins, Nick Laird, Warsan Shire and Nobel Laureate Louise Glück.  
Past winners include Aniqah Choudhri, Michael Lavers, Natalya Anderson, Lee Sharkey, Ann Gray (whose poem was shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best Single Poem) and Abigail Parry (who was recently shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best First Collection and the T.S. Eliot Prize).  The winner of The Moth Poetry Prize 2022 was British poet Laurie Bolger.

This year’s judge is Hannah Sullivan. Hannah studied Classics at Cambridge, received her PhD in English from Harvard, and taught as an Assistant Professor at Stanford University. She is an Associate Professor of English at New College, Oxford. Her debut collection, Three Poems, won the T. S. Eliot Prize in 2019. Her latest collection, Was It For This, was published by Faber earlier this year. You can listen to hear read one of her poems here.

1st prize €6,000
3 runner-up prizes of €1,000
8 commended poets will each receive €250
There is no line limit. The entry fee is €15 per poem. You can enter as many poems as you like.

31 December 2023

To submit your poem or order a copy of The Moth Magazine you can visit the website:

The Moth Poetry Prize 2023 Poster

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books