• www.inkwellwriters.ie

Guest Blogs

The Short Story Competition

Article by ERMurray © 4 July 2019.
Posted in Guest Blogs ().

Competition deadline: 30th September 2019

Set up in 2011, The Short Story competition showcases the best short stories from around the world including winners such as Angela Readman, Zoe Gilbert, Niamh MacCabe, C.G. Menon, among others.

Two cash prizes are awarded:

First prize: £500

Second prize: £100

Entry fee: £8 (PayPal only)

Winning stories are freely available on the Past Winners page, and may be included in future anthologies.

This year’s winners will be announced in December 2019. Click on Submission Guidelines for more details.

Here is a picture of the last two anthologies, published in 2014 and 2017, respectivelyBest of the Short Story: Volume 2 is available on Amazon for a fiver.

Terms and Conditions

Word limit: 1,000-5,000 (maximum).
Entry fee: £8 (via PayPal only). You will need to pay the submission fee and obtain a PayPal ID number before submitting your story
Put your PayPal ID number after the title of the story
Please put your name, email address and telephone number at the footer of each page.
Email your story as a Word document or pdf.
Font size: 12 point, Times New Roman or Arial, preferably.
No fancy fonts.
No poetry, novel chapters, sci-fi, fantasy or stories for children.
Page numbers are important. Make sure each page is numbered consecutively.
Submissions by email only. No hard copies, please.
Only one story allowed per person. Simultaneous submissions will not be accepted. Pick your best one and send it to me.
This competition is only open to people over the age of 18.
All submissions must be original and unpublished. That includes personal websites and blogs.
Please submit your story to: submit.theshortstory@gmail.com

By submitting your work to The Short Story you agree in the first instance:

to grant The Short Story first rights (the right to publish your story before anyone else in print or online)
to grant The Short Story non-exclusive rights to your work, including the right to include your work in an anthology
to grant The Short Story the right (but not the obligation) to store your work indefinitely

You retain all other rights.

When winners are announced all those who have not been successful are automatically granted back first serial rights.

Follow Elizabeth online, on Twitter and on Facebook.

Elizabeth Rose Murray lives in West Cork where she writes, fishes, and grows her own vegetables. Her first book for young adults Caramel Hearts (Alma Books) was published June 2016. Her debut novel for children aged 10-12, The Book of Learning - Nine Lives Trilogy 1 (Mercier Press) was chosen as the 2016 Dublin UNESCO City of Literature Citywide Read for Children and the follow-up The Book of Shadows - Nine Lives Trilogy 2 was shortlisted for the 2016 Irish Book Awards. The final installment The Book of Revenge will be published in February 2018.

Elizabeth has poetry and short fiction published in journals across the UK and Ireland - including Ogham Stone, Southword, South Circular, Esc and 3am - and has been shortlisted in various competitions including TV3AM Short Story, Francis MacManus, and Aesthetica Creative Works. She has also performed in Ciudades Paralelas: Station - a live writing installation.

Hoping to encourage new writers, Elizabeth provides manuscript reports and online writing courses through Inkwell Writers and Big Smoke Writing Factory. She is a regular at literary festivals, and offers adult workshops on writing for children and young adults, as well as multiple events and workshops for children and teens.

You can connect with Elizabeth on Twitter @ERMurray, Facebook www.facebook.com/ERMurray.Author or her blog www.ermurray.com