• www.inkitt.com

Guest Blogs

Vote Today For Your Bookseller of the Year!

Article by Vanessa Fox O'Loughlin © 15 February 2016.
Posted in Guest Blogs ().

There are just a few days left to vote for your bookseller of the year! This is an industry award so to nominate you need to be in the business, but here are the details:

O’Brien Bookseller of the Year Award 2016

The O’Brien Bookseller of the Year Award is presented annually in recognition of outstanding achievement or an invaluable contribution to the book trade by an individual bookseller.obrien.ie - BooksellerAward - BOTY-award

The Elements, a bronze perpetual trophy sculpted by Rowan Gillespie, one of Ireland’s leading sculptors. The winner also receives a framed commemorative certificate.


Any Bookseller who:

  1. operates on the island of Ireland
  2. works in, manages or owns a bookselling business
  3. has a minimum of three years’ experience as a bookseller in Ireland (not necessarily with the same company)

If you work in the book industry and would like to nominate a bookseller for the 2016 award, please email sales@obrien.ie with:

  1. the name of your nominated bookseller
  2. their bookshop,
  3. why you think they should win
  4. your name and contact details

Nominations will be accepted till the 17 February 2016. Remember, all who nominate will be put into a draw for a €100 One4all voucher!

The winner of the 2016 award will be decided by the following jury:

Michael Darcy, Brookside Publishing Services
Cormac Kinsella, Repforce Ireland
Siobhán Tierney, Hachette Ireland
Ivan O’Brien, The O’Brien Press

The winner will be announced at The Booksellers Association Irish Branch Dinner Dance on the 5 March 2016.
obrien.ie - BooksellerAward - Susan Walsh with Award 2015 (2)

Right: Susan Walsh, proud winner of the O’Brien Bookseller of the Year Award 2015.

The judges’ citation read: ‘She knows books and her market comprehensively and judges every title on its merits. Strong and decisive, she is always approachable, exudes positivity and has a can-do approach. With long experience in both selling and marketing books, and collaborating throughout the industry, she is one of the most effective people in the Irish book world.’

The full rollcall of winners is:

  • 1995 Fred Hanna, Fred Hanna Booksellers
  • 1996 Sally Mimnagh, Eason & Son, O’Connell St.
  • 1997 Helen Clear and Gemma Barry, Dubray Books
  • 1998 Frank and David O’Mahony, O’Mahony’s Booksellers
  • 1999 Fergal and Irene Stanley, Argosy Libraries
  • 2000 John McNamee, Laois Educational Supplies
  • 2001 Tom Owens, Eason & Son Ltd
  • 2002 Joe Collins, Hodges Figgis
  • 2003 Robert Redmond, The Open Book Company
  • 2004 Dervilla Evans, The Ennis Bookshop
  • 2005 Liz Meldon, Dundrum Books
  • 2006 Siobhán Tierney, Hughes & Hughes Booksellers
  • 2007 Eoin McHugh, Eason Wholesale
  • 2008 Mary Healy, Argosy Books
  • 2009 David O’Callaghan, Eason & Son Ltd
  • 2010 John Cotter, The Book Centre, Waterford
  • 2011 Gina O’Donnell, Hodges Figgis
  • 2012 Lynn Crampton, Dubray Grafton Street
  • 2013 Ronan Richmond, Argosy Books
  • 2014 John Treacy, International Education Services
  • 2015 Susan Walsh, Dubray Books

Follow Vanessa online, on Twitter and on Facebook.

Writing.ie has been developed and is run by Vanessa Fox O'Loughlin who founded The Inkwell Group publishing consultancy and is Ireland's leading literary scout. Vanessa is represented by literary agent Simon Trewin and writes crime as Sam Blake. LITTLE BONES will be published by Bonnier's Twenty7 imprint in May 2016. Vanessa is the Chair of Irish PEN and the Irish and Eurozone Adviser to the international organisation The Alliance of Independent Authors.