• www.inkwellwriters.ie

Write Here Write Now Shortlist Announced

Writing.ie | Guest Bloggers | Ink Stains


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Ahead of an awards ceremony next month, the finalists for 2018’s Write Her Write Now competition, on the theme of Social Media: A Writer’ Tale, has been announced.

The first bit of good news is that this year’s competition received an incredible response, with students all over the island entering in huge numbers.

That, of course, made the job of the judges a very difficult one – but we wouldn’t have it any other way!

The second bit of good news is that, as the voluminous entries were sifted, read, re-read and sorted, we were made aware once again of the fantastic wealth of extraordinary writing talent that exists throughout the land.

41 names were selected, across both second and third level. There were writers who had made it through rigorous scrutiny, and who are still in contention for the top prize.

This year’s panel of judges included some of the most eminent writers living in Ireland, including Booker Prize winner DBC Pierre, award-winning poet Rita Anne Higgins, crime writer extraordinaire Tana French, and recent winner of the Goldsmith’s Prize Mike McCormack, as well as Hot Press’ own senior editorial figures, Niall Stokes, Stuart Clark and Mairin Sheehy.

Run in conjunction with the Creative Ireland Programme, and supported by PayPal and Canon, Write Here, Write Now 2018 has as its theme Social Media: A Writer’s TaleEntrants were invited to explore the many ways in which social media can make us laugh, cry, shudder, or throw our hands in the air – whether that be via a tweet going viral, an Instagram post which reduces us to tears, a previously unheard voice getting the chance to speak up, or a Whatsapp message gone wrong…

One of the key objectives of the Creative Ireland Programme is to nurture new creative talent, making the organisation a perfect partner in this project for Hot Press, which has been doing just that for many years. Long on here to find out more!


Second Level: Female

Niamh Browne – Mount Mercy College, Cork

Vicky Burke – Saint Aidan’s Community College, Cork

Eleanor Curran – St. Vincent’s School, Dundalk, Louth

Katie Farrell – Maryfield College, Drumcondra, Dublin

Niamh Lusson – St Louis Community School, Kiltimagh, Mayo

Maolíosa Ní Léannacháin – Loreto College Mullingar, Co. Westmeath

Rachel O’Dwyer – Borrisokane Community College, Co Tipperary

Laura Quinn – Dominican College, Taylor’s Hill, Galway

Rosa Thomas – St. Wolstans’s Community School, Celbridge, Co. Kildare

Alva White- Leinster Senior College, Newbridge, Co. Kildare

Second Level: Male

Fields Chung – The High School, Dublin

Robert Gibbons – The King’s Hospital, Dublin

David Landers – Pobalscoil na Tríonóide, Youghal, Co. Cork

Kevin Matthews – Rathmines College, Dublin, Ireland

Patrick McCarron – St Macartan’s College, Monaghan

Orán McCormack-Grant- Our Lady’s Secondary School, Castleblayney Co. Monaghan

Dualtagh McDonnell – Ennis Community College, Co. Clare

Luke Power- Sancta Maria College, Louisburgh, Co Mayo

Matthew Price – Terenure College, Dublin

Conor Ryan- Belvedere College, Dublin

Third Level: Male

Dean Buckley – National University of Ireland, Galway

Mark Gilligan – Trinity College Dublin

Daniel McBrearty – NUI Galway

Luke McDermott – NUI Galway

Aaron McGinnity – Trinity College Dublin

Sandi Ndebele – University College Dublin

Josh O’Loughlin – Dublin Institute of Technology

Jason Reddan – Mary Immaculate College Limerick

Daniel Ryan – Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT)

Jamie Sewell – BIMM, Dublin

Third Level: Female

Amy Glover – Trinity College Dublin

Aoife Kearins – Trinity College Dublin

Rose Keating  – University College Cork

Alanna MacNamee – Trinity College Dublin

Mairead Melia – National University of Ireland, Galway

Fiona Monks – DCU, Dublin

Aoife O’Ceallachain – Trinity College Dublin

Grace O’Donnell – NUI Galway

Emer O’Hara – University College Dublin

Caitríona O’Malley – University College Dublin

Anna Stockdale – Queen’s University,  Belfast

  • The Dark Room by Sam Blake
  • www.designforwriters.com

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from writing.ie delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books

  • None Stood Taller by Peter Turnham
  • Freewheeling to Love by Máire O' Leary. A contemporary romance set in Co. Kerry
  • More adventures in 'Billy's Search for the Unspell Spell' the sequel out now!
  • The Needle and the Damage Done is the story of a boy from a small Irish village who became an adventurer, multi-award-winning do