• www.inkwellwriters.ie

Love Across The Irish Sea: The Crash by Catherine Miller

Writing.ie | Magazine | General Fiction | Interviews
Crash

By Catherine Miller

It’s funny how our love for a place or a person can stretch and grow especially when we can’t get to them.

My brother went on a one-day date that included flights there and back to fall in love with an Irish Gal, only she’s not from Galway. And in 2019 (after many other flights and ferries), he moved over. We went and visited in the summer of that year and I remember him clearly stating that I’d fall in love with the place (Ballyheigue) and would include it in a novel one day. Our heritage being partly based in Ireland only strengthening his logic.

We left with promises of visits becoming a regular occurrence, only to have the next planned visit (my mum heading over), to be scuppered by the pandemic.

Two long years followed. We lost my nan early on and we couldn’t see each other to grieve. And it turns out you can love a sibling more with their complete absence. Even if you’ve never publicly admitted to liking him all that much.

So, it might be part of the reason that love stretches across the Irish Sea in my latest novel, The Crash. In it, Zack and Chloe are the recipients of heart transplants, and it’s Zack that we find travelling along the Wild Atlantic Way with his friend, Larry. Only neither Zack nor Chloe are doing very well when they’re not together. And Zack never makes it as far as Ballyheigue so for that reason alone I might have to include it in another.

Parts of these scenes came together when, two years after we’d set foot on Irish soil, we were able to take my mum all the way over to be reunited with my brother. I know there have been many families divided over the past few years, and I realise that’s not at an end yet, so my stories are always ones that are full of hope as I believe that’s something we need more than ever. It turns out I did miss my brother and the beauty of the country he now lives in. Although, some of the love for my brother may have reduced once he made me wear his Tottenham Hotspur baseball hat.

The Crash is about enduring love. The kind that doesn’t stop, even after the person has gone. And it turns out that kind of love doesn’t even stop for your brother when you’re in the midst of a pandemic.

Also, in writing this article I’ve realised I need to pitch his first date to my publisher for a book! Because that sounds like the recipe for love across the Irish Sea!

(c) Catherine Miller

About The Crash:

A split-second decision can change everything…

At the edge of a forest, a husband and wife are driving through the winding lanes. When a song comes on the radio, the song that brought the high-school sweethearts together on a dancefloor forty years ago, they turn to each other. That split second – a stolen glance as memories wash over them – is one of their last. Moments later, their car crashes.

Yet from tragedy, comes hope…

Two strangers lie in hospital, their lives hanging in the balance. After a near-fatal accident, it’s a miracle that Zach survived. And with a life-long heart condition, Chloe didn’t think she would make it past her twenties.

But that day, Chloe and Zach’s lives are saved when they each receive a heart. Gifted a rare second chance, it’s up to them not to waste it – to make the most of every moment.

They don’t know it, but they are inextricably linked. And until Chloe and Zach find one another – two hearts searching for their missing part – their new lives can never begin… Will they be able to find each other before it’s too late?

An absolutely beautiful and heartbreaking tale that will make you reach for the tissues but ultimately leave you with a smile. Fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain will fall head over heels for this emotional and unforgettable story about making every second count.

Order your copy online here.

About the author

When Catherine Miller became a mum to twins, she decided her hands weren’t full enough so wrote a novel with every spare moment she managed to find. By the time the twins were two, Catherine had a two-book deal with Carina UK. Her debut novel, Waiting For You, came out in March 2016.
Catherine was a NHS physiotherapist, but for health reasons she retired early from this career. As she loved her physiotherapy job, she decided if she couldn’t do that she would pursue her writing dream. It took a few years and a couple of babies, but in 2015 she won the Katie Fforde bursary, was a finalist in the London Book Fair Write Stuff Competition and highly commended in Woman magazine’s writing competition. Since then she’s had four novels published.

  • allianceindependentauthors.org
  • www.designforwriters.com

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from writing.ie delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books