• www.inkwellwriters.ie

The Widow’s Last Secret by Lora Davies

Writing.ie | Magazine | Historical Fiction | Interviews
widows last secret

By Lora Davies

As a writer of historical fiction, research forms an integral part of my work – and indeed is something I have always enjoyed. In my previous career as a theatre director, researching the time period of the play that I was directing was always one of the things I relished the most, and so it is no surprise that in my writing, I am drawn to stories from the past that allow me to lose myself in another time and place. My latest novel, The Widow’s Last Secret, is set in England in the Early Victorian period; a time of amazing inventions and progress but also a time of great upheaval and, for many, crushing poverty. My research primarily involved reading books and articles, as I wrote the novel during the lockdowns of 2020 and all the wonderful museums and sites I had planned to visit were closed or inaccessible. I have never been more thankful for the greatest invention of our own age – the internet.

My first novel, Daughter Of The Shipwreck, is set in 1820 and as I began my research for the second book, it was fascinating to see what had changed in Britain in the twenty or so years between the two. One of the central topics of Daughter Of The Shipwreck is the slave trade and thankfully, by the 1840s, slavery had finally been abolished in the British Empire, although of course its legacy would – and still does – continue to linger. Other developments during this period included inventions such as the lawn mower and the sewing machine, Morse Code and indeed the earliest programmable mechanical computer. And most significantly, as far as The Widow’s Last Secret is concerned, was the development of the steam train and of the railways.

The inspiration behind The Widow’s Last Secret, is twofold. Firstly, I was inspired my memories of visiting the Severn Valley Railway as a child with my dad. The Severn Valley Railway is a heritage steam railway that meanders through the beautiful countryside of Shropshire and Worcestershire along the River Severn. I loved the sounds and smells of the steam trains and was once allowed to ride in the driver’s cab, much to my excitement – and to my dad’s envy! The Widow’s Last Secret is mostly set in a fictional village in Shropshire in the 1840s, when the first steam railways were being built.

I was also inspired by the ongoing battle over HS2, a high-speed railway that is currently being built in England. I was reading lots of press coverage, in which some people were wholeheartedly in favour of the project, claiming it would be economically beneficial and would create jobs, but others were vehemently opposed to it because of the damage it would do to the natural world. This got we wondering how people reacted when the first railways were being built in the 1830s and 1840s. Nowadays, trains are so much part of the fabric of our lives, but to the early Victorians they must have been a shocking and incredible innovation. They changed so much about how people lived; from the food they ate to the clothes they wore to the types of job they did.

I soon discovered that there had been very mixed feelings when it came to the early railways. Like one of my main characters, James, the railway engineer, many people were exhilarated by the changes the railway would bring. They saw it as a form of progress that would improve people’s lives. Others were very suspicious of them – people even feared that the trains would cause birds to fall from the sky and hens to stop laying eggs. There were also concerns about the destruction of the environment; Wordsworth famously asked, ‘And is no nook of English ground secure, From rash assault?’ in a poem opposing a railway line being built through his beloved Lake District.

In The Widow’s Last Secret, the eponymous Bella is from a rural background and feels a bond with the land. Through her story, I explore the lives of rural Victorians; the hardships they faced and the tough choices they had to make. When it comes to the railways, she and James are on opposite sides of the argument and yet they are drawn towards one another despite this.

The story is told from both Bella and James’s perspectives, and this dual narrator structure allows the reader to see how each of them views the world – and each other. It also allows the reader to be one step ahead of the characters at certain points; we almost want to jump into the book and say ‘no, don’t do that!’ as we can see what is going to happen better than they can. As their relationship deepens, both Bella and James have to reckon with the secrets in their pasts, and ultimately come to realise that progress and advancement always comes at a cost.

(c) Lora Davies

About The Widow’s Last Secret:

Victorian England, 1846: A gripping and powerful story about one woman’s incredible courage in the face of heartbreak, and a secret that – if revealed – could destroy everything.

Six years ago, Bella Farrow lost everything. Desperate and starving, she made a terrible mistake that forced her to abandon her home, her livelihood and her family. And when the only person she trusted – her beloved, steadfast husband – was killed in a tragic accident, Bella was left alone. She had to make her own way, while keeping her past hidden upon risk of imprisonment, or worse…

Now Bella is living a quiet life under a secret identity and making a good, honest living. But then a young, handsome man named James Earlham comes to town, and everything changes. Their instant connection disturbs her heart, her peace and her safety. Because Bella knows that for their love to flourish, she will have to reveal the secret that has remained hidden all these years – and put her trust in James.

Bella’s heart tells her to confess everything. But can she be sure James is really who he says he is? Can Bella truly be herself with him? Or is she putting her life in the hands of the one person who could betray her?

A page-turning novel about secrets, mistaken trust and the impossibility of hiding from your past, The Widow’s Last Secret is a must-read for fans of Kerry Barrett, Kate Morton and Tracy Rees.

Order your copy online here.

About the author

For as long as I can remember, I have been happiest with a book in my hands. From hiding under the covers with a torch as a small child so that I could stay up reading, to studying English at university so that I could get my hands on even more books – I guess it was only a matter of time before I went from reading books to writing them. It wasn’t a straightforward path; my passion for gripping plots and rounded characters led me first to work as an actor and theatre director, but after a Creative Writing course at my local bookshop, I was hooked. After completing a Masters at Royal Holloway, University of London, I finished my first novel, Daughter of the Shipwreck. I live in Brighton where I get inspiration from the incredibly rich history of the city and the inspiring and beautiful natural environment.

  • www.designforwriters.com
  • allianceindependentauthors.org

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from writing.ie delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books