• www.inkwellwriters.ie

Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards Shortlists Announced!

Writing.ie | Magazine | News for Writers
bg_iba_2014_logo 140x195
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

The Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2014 shortlist features a diverse array of acclaimed authors and well known Irish personalities including literary heavyweights Roddy Doyle, Colm Tóibín, Joseph O’ Connor and John Boyne, celebrated sporting figures Roy Keane and Brian O’ Driscoll, BBC presenter Graham Norton, and fiction queens Cecilia Ahern and Cathy Kelly.

Now in its ninth year, the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards brings together the entire literary community – readers, authors, booksellers, publishers and librarians –.to recognise and celebrate the very best of Irish literary talent.
Hundreds of books were submitted this year for consideration across the twelve categories and from today, the public are being asked to cast their vote on the best books via the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards website www.bgeirishbookawards.ie. Last year over 40,000 readers and book lovers made their voices heard and voted to select the winners in each category.

Votes can be cast until midnight 21 November 2014 and the winners will be announced at a gala event in The Double Tree by Hilton Hotel (formerly The Burlington) on Wednesday, 26 November. The Awards dinner has become the major event in the literary calendar with some of Ireland’s, and indeed the world’s, most recognised authors gathering together in a spirit of camaraderie and friendly competition to celebrate the success of the past year.

For the fourth year running, RTÉ Television will be broadcasting the highlights of the ‘Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards’ on RTÉ One on Saturday 29 November. This programme will showcase one of the biggest celebrations of Irish writing with many of Ireland’s most celebrated and loved authors in attendance.

Commenting on this year’s shortlist John Treacy, Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards Chairperson, said:
“Despite dire warnings about the death of the book, our industry continues to bring to the Irish reading public a range of fantastic books to enjoy. This year’s shortlists offer sixty wonderful titles across a broad range of genres and in our ninth year we remain proud to champion Irish writers and Irish publishing. We also urge readers to cast their votes in the online voting campaign.”

Dave Kirwan, Managing Director, Bord Gáis Energy, added:
“This year’s shortlist is as exciting as ever, with wonderful books in every category that set the standard particularly high. Bord Gáis Energy is committed to promoting a love of books and reading in Ireland and we are especially proud to recognise the literary talent we have in this country both today and at the awards themselves in a few weeks’ time.”

The full shortlists for the categories in the ‘Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2014’ are:

Eason Novel of the Year:

• Nora Webster by Colm Tóibín (Viking)
• The Thrill of it All by Joseph O’Connor (Harvill Secker)
• The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell (Hodder)
• A History of Loneliness by John Boyne (Doubleday)
• From Out of the City by John Kelly (Dalkey Archive Press)
• Academy St by Mary Costello (Canongate)

Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year:

• All that is Solid Melts into Air by Darragh McKeon (Viking)
• Kingdom of Scars by Eoin Macken (Poolbeg Press)
• Flight by Oona Frawley (Tramp Press)
• Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill (Quercus)
• Here are the Young Men by Rob Doyle (The Lilliput Press)
• The Undertaking by Audrey Magee (Atlantic Books)

National Book Tokens Non-Fiction Book of the Year:

• Get Sh*t Done! by Niall Harbison (Penguin Ireland)
• The Last Armada by Des Ekin (The O’Brien Press)
• The Life and Loves of a He Devil by Graham Norton (Hodder & Stoughton)
• It’s Not Yet Dark by Simon Fitzmaurice (Hachette Books Ireland)
• Hanging with The Elephant by Michael Harding (Hachette Books Ireland)
• Tom Gilmartin by Frank Connolly (Gill & Macmillan)

Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year:

• The Test by Brian O’Driscoll (Penguin Ireland)
• The Second Half by Roy Keane with Roddy Doyle (Orion)
• Dalo: The Autobiography of Anthony Daly by Anthony Daly (Transworld Ireland)
• The Race to Truth by Emma O’Reilly (Bantam)
• A Different Shade of Green by Alan McLoughlin (Ballpoint Press)
• Fields of Fire by Damian Lawlor (Transworld Ireland)

TheJournal.ie Best Irish-Published Book of the Year

• The Long Acre by PJ Cunningham (Ballpoint Press)
• Judging W.T. Cosgrave by Michael Laffan (Royal Irish Academy)
• Dubliners 100: by Thomas Morris (Tramp Press)
• Dancehall Days by Michael O’Reilly (Gill & MacMillan)
• The Glorious Madness, Tales of the Irish in World War I by Turtle Bunbury (Gill & MacMillan)
• T.K. Whitaker: Portrait of A Patriot by Anne Chambers (Doubleday Ireland)

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year: (Junior)

• TiN by Chris Judge(Andersen Press)
• Brian and the Vikings by Chris Judge and Mark Wickham (The O’Brien Press)
• Shh! We Have a Plan by Chris Haughton (Walker Books)
• Specs for Rex by Yasmeen Ismail (Bloomsbury Children’s)

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year: (Senior)

• Skulduggery Pleasant, The Dying Light by Derek Landy (Harper Collins Children’s Books)
• Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossan (Bloomsbury Children’s)
• Moone Boy by Chris O’Dowd and Nick Vincent Murphy (Macmillan Children’s Books)
• Brilliant by Roddy Doyle (Macmillan Children’s Books)

Avonmore Cookbook of the Year:

• The Happy Pear by David and Stephen Flynn (Penguin Ireland)
• All Things Sweet by Rachel Allen (Harper Collins)
• The Nation’s Favourite Food Fast by Neven Maguire (Gill &Macmillan)
• From Lynda’s Table by Lynda Booth (DCS Publishing)
• Back To Basics by Kevin Dundon (Hachette Books Ireland)
• The Extra Virgin Kitchen by Susan Jane White (Gill and Macmillan)

Ireland AM Crime Fiction Book of the Year:

• Unravelling Oliver by Liz Nugent (Penguin Ireland)
• The Kill by Jane Casey (Ebury Publishing)
• The Final Silence by Stuart Neville (Harvill Secker)
• Can Anybody Help Me? by Sinead Crowley (Quercus)
• The Secret Place by Tana French (Hachette Books Ireland)
• Last Kiss by Louise Phillips (Hachette Books Ireland)

Popular Fiction Book of the Year:

• Keeping Up with the Kalashnikovs by Ross O’Carroll Kelly (Penguin Ireland)
• The Secrets Sisters Keep by Sinéad Moriarty (Penguin Ireland)
• The Year I Met You by Cecelia Ahern (HarperCollins)
• The Last Days of Rabbit Hayes by Anna McPartlin (Transworld Ireland)
• It Started With Paris by Cathy Kelly (Orion)
• The Heart of Winter by Emma Hannigan (Hachette Books Ireland)

RTE Radio One John Murray Show Listeners’ Choice:

• Us by David Nicholls (Hodder & Stoughton)
• Unravelling Oliver by Liz Nugent (Penguin Ireland)
• The Life and Loves of a He Devil by Graham Norton (Hodder and Stoughton)
• It’s All in the Head by Majella O’Donnell (Simon &Schuster)
• The Test by Brian O’Driscoll (Penguin Ireland)
• Paul Galvin: The Autobiography by Paul Galvin (Transworld Ireland)

Writing.ie Short Story of the Year ( click here to read the stories)

• Eveline by Donal Ryan (The Irish Times)
• Paprika by Frank McGuinness (Surge, The O’Brien Press)
• Absence by Christine Dwyer Hickey (New Island Books)
• Rest Day by John Boyne (The Irish Times)
• Priesteen by Ciarán Folan (The London Magazine)
• Five Days to Polling Day by Danielle McLaughlin (The South Circular)

For further information, and to vote for your favourite story, please go to the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards website www.bgeirishbookawards.ie

  • www.designforwriters.com
  • allianceindependentauthors.org
  • amzn.to

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from writing.ie delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books

  • amzn.to
  • amzn.to
  • amzn.to
  • amzn.to