• www.inkwellwriters.ie

Greenbean Novel Fair 2016 Finalists Announced

Writing.ie | Magazine | News for Writers
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

The Greenbean Novel Fair 2016 finalists have been announced, as selected by judges Anthony Glavin, Martina Devlin & Margaret Hayes

Twelve aspiring novelists have been selected from almost 275 applicants to participate in the Greenbean Novel Fair 2016, an annual Irish Writers Centre initiative which will take place on Saturday 20 February.

Now in its fifth year, the event aims to introduce up-and-coming writers to top publishers and literary agents, giving novelists the opportunity to bypass the slush pile, pitch their ideas and place their synopsis and sample chapters directly into the hands of publishers and agents.

The judging panel, who have remained anonymous up until today, can now be revealed as writer and editor Anthony Glavin, writer and journalist Martina Devlin and Margaret Hayes, Dublin City Librarian.

Congratulations to this year’s winners who have been named as:

Alex Reece Abbott

Breda Joy

James Martyn Joyce

Julianne Knowles

Eoin Lane

Orla McAlinden

Elizabeth McSkeane

E.A. O’Donovan

Lana O’Farrell

Fiona O’Rourke

R.M. Clarke

Mairead Rooney

There is a diverse range of genres across the novels including literary fiction, historical fiction, crime and dystopian fiction. The 2016 finalists will be travelling from every compass direction; including a UK resident and a former winner who will be trying her luck second time round and making her way from Toronto, Canada.

Ahead of the Fair, the finalists will take part in a Prep Day on Saturday 6 February to hone their skills, practise their pitches and gain expert advice from this year’s judging panel, and former winner Kevin Curran who has just released his second novel Citizens (Liberties Press, 2016) will be offering a winner’s insight.

This is the second year where a longlist of twelve applicants will have their work critiqued, extending the prizes from 12 to 24 winners. The following names will receive individual critiques:

  • Guy Le Jeune     
  • Jane Cassidy    
  • Majella Cullinane  
  • Seán Farrell    
  • Teresa King       
  • Dawn Lowe       
  • Marie Lynch      
  • Eamon Mag Uidhir    
  • Gillian Nash       
  • Anne O’Leary    
  • Jean O’Sullivan    
  • Cathriona Slammon   
  • www.designforwriters.com
  • allianceindependentauthors.org
  • amzn.to

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from writing.ie delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books

  • amzn.to
  • amzn.to
  • amzn.to
  • amzn.to