• www.inkwellwriters.ie

Irish Bestsellers 14th March 2020

Writing.ie | Magazine | Irish Bestseller Lists
Paper Bracelet
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Welcome to another week in the Irish Bestsellers: trying to be a constant in a very rapidly changing world! We have no idea how this will affect the book industry – on the one hand, people on lockdown (particularly children, perhaps?) may need entertainment more than ever, (over in the UK, Waterstones has seen “unprecedented demand” ; on the other, with major events such as fairs and festivals and book launches being cancelled, authors and smaller, independent book shops may well lose out. Keep supporting your creative industries!

In the charts, World Book Day is still having an impact, with all ten of the Children’s chart being filled by WBD2020 titles and over half of the Top 20. Dave Pilkey’s WBD Dog Man edition is still at the top, but the gap has narrowed between that and no. 2, currently held by last week’s featured book The Liberation of Brigid Dunne by Patricia Scanlan.

This week’s featured book is the incredibly moving The Paper Bracelet by Rachel English. Here’s the blurb:

Every baby’s paper bracelet held a mother’s secret…

‘Utterly moving and compelling. That first line…wow! I was hooked‘ Patricia Scanlan

‘A powerful, important, beautiful book’ Sinéad Crowley

Inspired by heartrending true events in a home for unwed mothers, set in Ireland, Boston and London, this novel is perfect for readers of The Letter by Kathryn Hughes and The Girl in the Letter by Emily Gunnis.

For almost fifty years, Katie Carroll has kept a box tucked away inside her wardrobe. It dates from her time working as a nurse in a west of Ireland home for unwed mothers in the 1970s. The box contains a notebook holding the details of the babies and young women she met there. It also holds many of the babies’ identity bracelets.

Following the death of her husband, Katie makes a decision. The information she possesses could help reunite adopted people with their birth mothers, and she decides to post a message on an internet forum. Soon the replies are rolling in, and Katie finds herself returning many of the bracelets to their original owners. She encounters success and failure, heartbreak and joy. But is she prepared for old secrets to be uncovered in her own life?

Readers love Rachael English’s writing:

‘A true storyteller who keeps you turning the pages’ Cathy Kelly

‘A compelling read’ Sheila O’Flanagan

‘Beautiful, compelling, and sincere in the way of the very best stories and the best books’ Irish Independent

‘An evocative read … powerful … If you read authors such as Diane Chamberlain, Sheila O’Flanagan or Maeve Binchy then you should also check this out’ Between My Lines

‘Enchanting, emotional, heartbreaking, ultimately uplifting and just perfect… Rachael English is a wonderful storyteller’ Being Anne

And now this week’s charts, with the Top 20 followed by the Top 10 in each category. Stay safe and stay healthy!

Data Supplied by Nielsen BookScan taken from the Irish Consumer Market week ending 14th March 2020
ICM
Title Author Publisher Group Sales
1 Dog Man: World Book Day 2020 Pilkey, Dav Scholastic Ltd. Grp 2,381
2 Liberation of Brigid Dunne,The Scanlan, Patricia Simon & Schuster Grp 1,906
3 Mirror and the Light,The Mantel, Hilary HarperCollins Grp 1,726
4 Kid Normal and the Loudest Library:World Book Day 2020 James, Greg & Smith, Chris Bloomsbury Grp 1,634
5 Grown Ups Keyes, Marian Penguin Grp 1,506
6 Guest List,The Foley, Lucy HarperCollins Grp 1,328
7 Amelia Fang and the Bookworm Gang – World Book Day 2020 Anderson, Laura Ellen Egmont Books Grp 1,319
8 Where the Crawdads Sing Owens, Delia Little, Brown Book Grp 1,306
9 Case of the Drowned Pearl: A Murder Most Unladylike Mini-Mystery Stevens, Robin Penguin Grp 1,304
10 Where Are You, Puffling?:An Irish Adventure. World Book Day 2020 Daly, Gerry & McGann, Erika O’Brien Press Grp 1,267
11 My Awesome Guide to Getting Good at Stuff:World Book Day 2020 Syed, Matthew Hachette Children’s Grp 1,230
12 Alex Rider Undercover: Four Secret Files Horowitz, Anthony Walker Grp 1,153
13 Supertato: Books Are Rubbish!:World Book Day 2020 Linnet, Paul & Hendra, Sue Simon & Schuster Grp 1,106
14 Day We Met The Queen,The:World Book Day 2020 Rauf, Onjali Q. Hachette Children’s Grp 1,083
15 Bing’s Splashy Story: World Book Day 2020 HarperCollins Grp 1,082
16 American Dirt Cummins, Jeanine Headline Grp 988
17 Evie in the Jungle:World Book Day 2020 Haig, Matt Canongate Grp 942
18 Paper Bracelet,The English, Rachael Hachette Books Ireland Grp 651
19 Actress Enright, Anne Random House Grp 585
20 Beekeeper of Aleppo,The Lefteri, Christy Bonnier Books UK Publishing Gr 584

 

Data Supplied by Nielsen BookScan taken from the Irish Consumer Market week ending 14th March 2020
Mass Market Fiction
Title Author Imprint Sales
1 Where the Crawdads Sing Owens, Delia Corsair 1,306
2 Beekeeper of Aleppo,The Lefteri, Christy Manilla Press 584
3 Her Husband’s Mistake O’Flanagan, Sheila Headline Review 561
4 Girl, Woman, Other Evaristo, Bernardine Penguin Books Ltd 537
5 Hunting Party,The Foley, Lucy HarperCollins Publishers 517
6 Silent Patient,The Michaelides, Alex Orion (an Imprint of The Orion 410
7 Handmaid’s Tale,The# Atwood, Margaret Vintage Classics 396
8 Tattooist of Auschwitz,The Morris, Heather Zaffre Publishing 366
9 Normal People Rooney, Sally Faber & Faber 364
10 Wolf Hall# Mantel, Hilary Fourth Estate 326
Original Fiction
Title Author Imprint Sales
1 Liberation of Brigid Dunne,The Scanlan, Patricia Simon & Schuster Ltd 1,906
2 Mirror and the Light,The Mantel, Hilary Fourth Estate 1,726
3 Grown Ups Keyes, Marian Michael Joseph 1,506
4 Guest List,The Foley, Lucy HarperCollins Publishers 1,328
5 American Dirt Cummins, Jeanine Tinder Press 988
6 Paper Bracelet,The English, Rachael Hachette Books Ireland 651
7 Actress Enright, Anne Jonathan Cape 585
8 Hungry Road,The Conlon-McKenna, Marita Transworld Ireland 575
9 Mirror and the Light,The Mantel, Hilary Fourth Estate 539
10 Dear Edward Napolitano, Ann Viking 401
Paperback Non Fiction
Title Author Imprint Sales
1 Philadelphia, Here I Come Friel, Brian Faber And Faber Plays 378
2 Murder of Dr Muldoon,The Boyle, Ken & Desmond, Tim The Mercier Press Ltd 346
3 This is Going to Hurt Kay, Adam Picador 305
4 Eat Up, Raise Your Game Davey, Daniel Gill Books 253
5 Volunteer,The Fairweather, Jack W.H.Allen 244
6 Educated Westover, Tara Windmill Books 219
7 Just One More Question Tubridy, Niall Penguin Books Ltd 205
8 Invisible Women Perez, Caroline Criado Vintage 204
9 Choice,The Eger, Edith Rider & Co 178
10 Wild Atlantic Way McKenna, John & McKenna, Sally Collins 167
Hardback Non Fiction
Title Author Imprint Sales
1 Boy, The Mole, The Fox and The Horse,The Mackesy, Charlie Ebury Press 533
2 My Autobiography Best, Rory Hodder & Stoughton 347
3 Gaff Goddess Barra, Laura de Transworld Ireland 206
4 Pinch of Nom Everyday Light Featherstone, Kay & Allinson, Kate Bluebird 157
5 Pinch of Nom Featherstone, Kay & Allinson, Kate Bluebird 152
6 Mrs Hinch: The Activity Journal Michael Joseph 141
7 Irish Cookbook,The McMahon, Jp Phaidon Press 135
8 Secret,The Byrne, Rhonda Simon & Schuster Ltd 122
9 Guinness World Records 2020 Guinness World Records 122
10 No Fuss Vegan:Everyday Food for Everyone Purcell, Roz Penguin Ireland 116
Childrens
Title Author Imprint Sales
1 Dog Man: World Book Day 2020 Pilkey, Dav Scholastic 2,381
2 Kid Normal and the Loudest Library:World Book Day 2020 James, Greg & Smith, Chris Bloomsbury Childrens Books 1,634
3 Amelia Fang and the Bookworm Gang – World Book Day 2020 Anderson, Laura Ellen Egmont Books 1,319
4 Case of the Drowned Pearl: A Murder Most Unladylike Mini-Mystery,The Stevens, Robin Puffin 1,304
5 Where Are You, Puffling?:An Irish Adventure. World Book Day 2020 Daly, Gerry & McGann, Erika O’Brien Press Ltd 1,267
6 My Awesome Guide to Getting Good at Stuff:World Book Day 2020 Syed, Matthew Wren & Rook 1,230
7 Alex Rider Undercover: Four Secret Files Horowitz, Anthony Walker Books Ltd 1,153
8 Supertato: Books Are Rubbish!:World Book Day 2020 Linnet, Paul & Hendra, Sue Simon & Schuster Childrens Boo 1,106
9 Day We Met The Queen,The:World Book Day 2020 Rauf, Onjali Q. Orion Children’s Books 1,083
10 Bing’s Splashy Story: World Book Day 2020 HarperCollins 1,082
# Combined Editions
  • www.designforwriters.com
  • amzn.to

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from writing.ie delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books

  • amzn.to
  • amzn.to
  • amzn.to
  • amzn.to