• www.inkwellwriters.ie

Irish Bestsellers 22nd February 2020

Writing.ie | Magazine | Irish Bestseller Lists
boot rusty rescue
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

The charts this week seem to feature an unusual number of older hits returning to various bestseller lists. In the Top 20, it’s no surprise that The Tattooist of Auschwitz is still around; after all, it’s been in the charts almost continually since its release in 2018, almost exactly two years, in fact. Joining it, slipping in at no. 20, is a bit of a classic, Brian Friel’s Philadelphia, Here I Come from 1975. Elsewhere, Little Women by Louisa May Alcott is in Mass Market Fiction (perhaps influenced by the recent film release, which seems to have garnered great reviews?) and in Hardback Non-Fiction, Oprah Winfrey’s What I Know For Sure is quickly followed by The Secret by Rhonda Byrne, at nos. 7 and 8 respectively.

In Children’s, Dave Pilkey is top dog in numbers, if not quite at no. 1, with five out the Top 10 taken up by various instalments of his Dog Man series. Whilst we can expect to see most of the current Children’s Top 10 replaced in the coming weeks by the annual World Book Day onslaught, Pilkey will no doubt be hanging around as he’s one of this year’s WBD authors.

Our featured book this week keeps us in the Children’s Top 10 a little longer for a change, with Dublin author Shane Hegarty’s newest book Boot: The Rusty Rescue, at no. 5 in the Children’s bestsellers and no. 18 in the Top 20. Here’s the blurb:

For fans of Toy Story and Charlie Changes into a Chicken, this is the second hilarious, warm-hearted story about a small robot on a big adventure. With illustrations by Ben Mantle bringing Boot’s world to life, this is a thrill-ride of an adventure, stuffed with fun, friendship and a warehouse full of bouncy castles.

‘Fast, funny and furious. These are definitely my favourite robots.’ Eoin Colfer

Toy robot Boot has come a long way since it woke up in a scrapyard with only two and a half glitchy memories. It has a home with its robot pals in an abandoned amusement arcade, and has discovered what true happiness is – although it’s still not sure why humans are so leaky and weird … But when Boot and the gang stumble upon Rusty, an old, broken robot, forgotten in the back of a testing lab, it’s time to spring into action. Boot knows there’s something special about Rusty – but can they free the old robot and help it find its purpose?

Illustrated throughout in glorious black and white by the award-winning Ben Mantle, this is an unforgettable tale of resilience and hope.

Have you read the first BOOT story, which was shortlisted for the Sainsbury’s Book Award?

Before you rush off to read it, here are this week’s charts, with the Top 20 followed by the Top 10 in each category:

Data Supplied by Nielsen BookScan taken from the Irish Consumer Market week ending 22nd February 2020
ICM
Title Author Publisher Group Sales
1 Grown Ups Keyes, Marian Penguin Grp 1,821
2 Where the Crawdads Sing Owens, Delia Little, Brown Book Grp 1,015
3 Dear Edward Napolitano, Ann Penguin Grp 827
4 American Dirt Cummins, Jeanine Headline Grp 821
5 Actress Enright, Anne Random House Grp 788
6 Hungry Road,The Conlon-McKenna, Marita Transworld Grp 733
7 Guest List,The Foley, Lucy HarperCollins Grp 696
8 Boy, The Mole, The Fox and The Horse,The Mackesy, Charlie Random House Grp 640
9 Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Wrecking Ball (Book 14) Kinney, Jeff Penguin Grp 517
10 Gaff Goddess Barra, Laura de Transworld Grp 500
11 Dog Man: Fetch-22 Pilkey, Dav Scholastic Ltd. Grp 487
12 Beast of Buckingham Palace,The Walliams, David HarperCollins Grp 462
13 Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Meltdown (Book 13) Kinney, Jeff Penguin Grp 421
14 Just One More Question Tubridy, Niall Penguin Grp 384
15 Eat Up, Raise Your Game Davey, Daniel Gill Group 379
16 Silent Patient,The Michaelides, Alex Orion Grp 378
17 Tattooist of Auschwitz,The Morris, Heather Bonnier Books UK Publishing Gr 359
18 BOOT: The Rusty Rescue Hegarty, Shane Hachette Children’s Grp 359
19 You Can Save The Planet Wines, J. A. & Gifford, Clive & Horne, S Michael O’Mara Grp 356
20 Philadelphia, Here I Come Friel, Brian Faber Grp 351

 

Data Supplied by Nielsen BookScan taken from the Irish Consumer Market week ending 22nd February 2020
Mass Market Fiction
Title Author Imprint Sales
1 Where the Crawdads Sing Owens, Delia Corsair 1,015
2 Silent Patient,The Michaelides, Alex Orion (an Imprint of The Orion 378
3 Tattooist of Auschwitz,The Morris, Heather Zaffre Publishing 359
4 Normal People Rooney, Sally Faber & Faber 318
5 Hunting Party,The Foley, Lucy HarperCollins Publishers 295
6 Beekeeper of Aleppo,The Lefteri, Christy Manilla 293
7 Handmaid’s Tale,The# Atwood, Margaret Vintage 281
8 Importance of Being Aisling,The McLysaght, Emer & Breen, Sarah Gill Books 270
9 Seven Letters Moriarty, Sinead Penguin Books Ltd 249
10 Little Women Alcott, Louisa May William Collins 235
Original Fiction
Title Author Imprint Sales
1 Grown Ups Keyes, Marian Michael Joseph 1,821
2 Dear Edward Napolitano, Ann Viking 827
3 American Dirt Cummins, Jeanine Tinder Press 821
4 Actress Enright, Anne Jonathan Cape 788
5 Hungry Road,The Conlon-McKenna, Marita Transworld Ireland 733
6 Guest List,The Foley, Lucy HarperCollins Publishers 696
7 Once, Twice, Three Times an Aisling McLysaght, Emer & Breen, Sarah Gill Books 319
8 Apeirogon Bloomsbury Publishing PLC 311
9 Cilka’s Journey Morris, Heather Zaffre Publishing 233
10 Keep Your Eyes on Me Blake, Sam Corvus 230
Paperback Non Fiction
Title Author Imprint Sales
1 Just One More Question Tubridy, Niall Penguin Books Ltd 384
2 Eat Up, Raise Your Game Davey, Daniel Gill Books 379
3 Philadelphia, Here I Come Friel, Brian Faber And Faber Plays 351
4 No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference:Illustrated Edition Thunberg, Greta Penguin Books Ltd 327
5 This is Going to Hurt Kay, Adam Picador 278
6 Volunteer,The Fairweather, Jack W.H.Allen 270
7 Choice,The Eger, Edith Rider & Co 196
8 Educated Westover, Tara Windmill Books 187
9 Running From the Shadows Hickey, Stephanie Hachette Books Ireland 168
10 Five,The Rubenhold, Hallie Black Swan 140
Hardback Non Fiction
Title Author Imprint Sales
1 Boy, The Mole, The Fox and The Horse,The Mackesy, Charlie Ebury Press 640
2 Gaff Goddess Barra, Laura de Transworld Ireland 500
3 Pinch of Nom Everyday Light Featherstone, Kay & Allinson, Kate Bluebird 266
4 Pinch of Nom Featherstone, Kay & Allinson, Kate Bluebird 229
5 What the Heck Is EOS? Wickman, Gino & Bouwer, Tom BenBella Books 181
6 No Fuss Vegan Purcell, Roz Penguin Ireland 154
7 What I Know for Sure Winfrey, Oprah Macmillan 139
8 Secret,The Byrne, Rhonda Simon & Schuster Ltd 135
9 Mrs Hinch: The Activity Journal Michael Joseph 100
10 100 Poems Heaney, Seamus Faber & Faber 93
Childrens
Title Author Imprint Sales
1 Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Wrecking Ball (Book 14) Kinney, Jeff Puffin 517
2 Dog Man: Fetch-22 Pilkey, Dav Scholastic U.S. 487
3 Beast of Buckingham Palace,The Walliams, David HarperCollins 462
4 Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Meltdown (Book 13) Kinney, Jeff Puffin 421
5 BOOT: The Rusty Rescue Hegarty, Shane Hodder Children’s Books 359
6 You Can Save The Planet:101 Ways You Can Make a Difference Wines, J. A. & Gifford, Clive & Horne, S Buster Books 356
7 Dog Man 7: For Whom the Ball Rolls Pilkey, Dav Scholastic U.S. 310
8 Dog Man 4: Dog Man and Cat Kid Pilkey, Dav Scholastic 310
9 Dog Man 6: Brawl of the Wild Pilkey, Dav Scholastic 309
10 Adventures of Dog Man 2: Unleashed,The Pilkey, Dav Scholastic 295
# Combined Editions

 

 

 

  • www.designforwriters.com
  • amzn.to

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from writing.ie delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books

  • amzn.to
  • amzn.to
  • amzn.to
  • amzn.to