Irish Bestsellers 6th April 2024

Writing.ie | Magazine | Irish Bestseller Lists
The-Lies-Beneath-by-Lucy-OCallaghan

This week we’ve got another amazing success story from our very own Writers Ink Online Writing Group, as Lucy O’Callaghan becomes the third member of Writers Ink to have their debut hit the charts and the second this year, with The Lies Beneath going straight into the Top 10 Original Fiction. Writing groups are a fantastic way to get support before, during, and after writing your book and it clearly works! You can also find Lucy right here at writing.ie in our really useful Links for Writers section.

Here’s the blurb for The Lies Beneath:

‘Fans of K.L. Slater and B.A. Paris Slater will love this.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Friendship tested, secrets revealed, lives shattered: a gripping tale of deception.


Carla seems to have it all – a big house in a picturesque village on the west coast of Ireland, a rich husband, and two great kids. But she wants to be Carla again. To rediscover herself beyond her roles as a mother and wife. Teaching is her passion, but her husband Thomas prefers to keep his wife at home and blocks her attempts to return to work.

Carla’s best friend Emily is struggling in the dating world. Back to work since separating from her husband, she longs to have a partner again – a longing that leads her to make a disastrous mistake.

Amanda, a friendly librarian, is a manipulative mother behind the scenes, and prepared to use extreme measures to hold on to her student daughter Dawn who is desperate to escape her suffocating situation.

Hidden beneath the picture-perfect marriage, the enduring friendship and mother/daughter relationship lie betrayals that will shatter three families.

And now this week’s bestseller charts, with the Top 20 followed by the Top 10 in each category.

Data Supplied by Nielsen BookScan taken from the Irish Consumer Market week ending 06 April 2024

TitleAuthorPublisher GroupSales
1Dog Man 12: The Scarlet ShedderPilkey, DavScholastic Ltd. Grp1,963
2In Her PlaceCoffey, EdelLittle, Brown Book Grp964
3Lighthouse Secret,TheHarrington, CarmelHarperCollins Grp858
4Stranger in the Family,ACasey, JaneHarperCollins Grp843
5Reappearance of Rachel Price,TheJackson, HollyHarperCollins Grp803
6Small Things Like TheseKeegan, ClaireFaber Grp743
7SisterhoodKelly, CathyHarperCollins Grp553
8Strange Sally DiamondNugent, LizPenguin Grp539
9No One Saw a ThingMara, AndreaTransworld Grp498
10Looshkin: Honk If You See It!Smart, JamieDavid Fickling Books Grp427
11DuneHerbert, FrankHodder & Stoughton Grp419
12Prophet SongLynch, PaulOneworld Publications Grp406
13Bee Sting,TheMurray, PaulPenguin Grp406
14One DayNicholls, DavidHodder & Stoughton Grp386
15Fourth WingYarros, RebeccaLittle, Brown Book Grp382
16Women,TheHannah, KristinPan Macmillan Grp381
17Mind Full of Murder,A:Skulduggery PleasantLandy, DerekHarperCollins Grp355
18Anna’s Game PlanGeary, AnnaPenguin Grp350
19Covenant of Water,TheVerghese, AbrahamAtlantic Books Grp347
20Agents of S.U.I.T.: From Badger to WorseGreen, John Patrick & Hastings, ChristopPan Macmillan Grp343
Data Supplied by Nielsen BookScan taken from the Irish Consumer Market week ending 06 April 2024
Mass Market Fiction




TitleAuthorImprintSales
1Small Things Like TheseKeegan, ClaireFaber & Faber743
2Strange Sally DiamondNugent, LizPenguin Books Ltd 539
3No One Saw a ThingMara, AndreaPenguin (Transworld)498
4DuneHerbert, FrankHodder Paperback419
5One DayNicholls, DavidHodder Paperback386
6Fourth WingYarros, RebeccaPiatkus Books382
7Covenant of Water,TheVerghese, AbrahamGrove Press347
8Old God’s TimeBarry, SebastianFaber & Faber287
9AntarcticaKeegan, ClaireFaber & Faber285
10Housemaid,TheMcFadden, FreidaLittle,Brown256
Original Fiction




TitleAuthorImprintSales
1In Her PlaceCoffey, EdelSphere964
2Lighthouse Secret,TheHarrington, CarmelHarperCollins858
3Stranger in the Family,ACasey, JaneHemlock Press843
4SisterhoodKelly, CathyHarperCollins553
5Prophet SongLynch, PaulOneworld Publications406
6Bee Sting,TheMurray, PaulHamish Hamilton406
7Women,TheHannah, KristinMacmillan381
8Playdate,TheDillon, ClaraSandycove239
9BreakdownSweeney, CathyWeidenfeld & Nicolson236
10Lies Beneath,TheO’Callaghan, LucyPoolbeg Press232
Paperback Non Fiction




TitleAuthorImprintSales
1Anna’s Game PlanGeary, AnnaSandycove350
2Trading Game,The:A ConfessionStevenson, GaryAllen Lane309
3Atomic HabitsClear, JamesRandom House Business Books282
4This is Not a Self-Help BookMehigan, MarkGill Books248
6Poor:Grit, courage, and the life-changing value of self-beliefO’Sullivan, KatrionaSandycove185
5Surrounded by Idiots:The Four Types of Human BehaviourErikson, ThomasVermilion178
7Four Shots in the Night:A True Story of Stakeknife, Murder and JusticeHemming, HenryQuercus Publishing Plc175
8Myth of Normal,The:Illness, health & healing in a toxic cultureMaté, Gabor & Maté, DanielVermilion170
9Diary of a CEO,The:The 33 Laws of Business and LifeBartlett, StevenEbury Edge138
10Killing Thatcher:The IRA, the Manhunt and the Long War on the CrownCarroll, RoryMUDLARK133
Hardback Non Fiction




TitleAuthorImprintSales
1Twelve Sheep:Life lessons from a lambing seasonConnell, JohnAtlantic Books299
2Hike Life,The:My 50 Favourite Hikes in IrelandPurcell, RozannaBlack & White Publishing231
3Bored of Lunch: The Healthy Air Fryer BookAnthony, NathanEbury Press145
4Bored of Lunch Healthy Slow Cooker: Even EasierAnthony, NathanEbury Press98
5I’m Glad My Mom DiedMcCurdy, JennetteSimon & Schuster78
6Listen to the Land SpeakMagan, ManchánGill Books73
7Boy, The Mole, The Fox and The Horse,TheMackesy, CharlieEbury Press71
8Anxious Generation,TheHaidt, JonathanAllen Lane64
9Poor Charlie’s Almanack:The Essential Wit and Wisdom of Charles T. MungerMunger, Charles T.Stripe Press63
10Wild HopeAshworth, DonnaBlack & White Publishing63
Childrens




TitleAuthorImprintSales
1Dog Man 12: The Scarlet ShedderPilkey, DavScholastic U.S.1963
2Reappearance of Rachel Price,TheJackson, HollyElectric Monkey803
3Looshkin: Honk If You See It!Smart, JamieDavid Fickling Books427
4Mind Full of Murder,A:Skulduggery PleasantLandy, DerekHarperCollins355
5Agents of S.U.I.T.: From Badger to WorseGreen, John Patrick & Hastings, ChristopMacmillan Children’s Books343
6Diary of a Wimpy Kid: No Brainer (Book 18)Kinney, JeffPuffin324
7Child’s Bible,AWright, Sally AnnAuthentic Media322
8Dog Man 11: Twenty Thousand Fleas Under the Sea (PB)Pilkey, DavScholastic304
9Bunny vs Monkey: Bunny Bonanza!Smart, JamieDavid Fickling Books298
10Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Diper Överlöde (Book 17)Kinney, JeffPuffin246

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from writing.ie delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books