• www.inkwellwriters.ie


Shortlist for The Booker Prize 2019 Announced

Article by Writing IE Admin © 4 September 2019 Writing.ie .
Posted in the Magazine ( · News for Writers ).

The Shortlist for this year’s Booker Prize has been announced, with four of the six books being written by women. Two previous winners feature on the list – Margaret Atwood and Salman Rushdie – which also includes the 1000 page, single sentence novel by Lucy Ellmann, Ducks, Newburyport.

The Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over 50 years. It is awarded annually to the best novel of the year written in English and published in the UK or Ireland.

The Shortlist

Margaret Atwood (Canada), The Testaments (Vintage, Chatto & Windus)

Lucy Ellmann (USA/UK), Ducks, Newburyport (Galley Beggar Press)

Bernardine Evaristo (UK), Girl, Woman, Other (Hamish Hamilton)

Chigozie Obioma (Nigeria), An Orchestra of Minorities (Little Brown)

Salman Rushdie (UK/India), Quichotte (Jonathan Cape)

Elif Shafak (UK/Turkey), 10 Minutes 38 Seconds in This Strange World (Viking)