• www.inkitt.com


The Winners: The Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards 2017

Article by Vanessa Fox O'Loughlin © 29 November 2017 .
Posted in the Magazine ( · News for Writers ).

At a glittering ceremony in Dublin’s Clayton Hotel tonight (28th November 2017), over 500 members of the Irish and British publishing world – authors, editors, publicists and publishers – celebrated the best in Irish books.

In addition to the 15 categories announced, there were some special awards – the International Recognition Award given to celebrated children’s author David Walliams and a Lifetime Achievement Award to Eavan Boland, one of Ireland’s greatest poets.

Here are the winners in each category, kicking off with our own award. You can read Christine’s story here.

  • Writing.ie Short Story of the Year

Back to Bones – Christine Dwyer Hickey (Longlisted for Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award)

  • TheJournal.ie Best Irish Published Book of the Year

Atlas of the Irish Revolution – John Crowley, Donál Ó Drisceoil, Mike Murphy and John Borgonovo (Cork University Press)

  • National Book Tokens Children’s Book of the Year (Junior)

A Sailor Went to Sea, Sea, Sea – Favourite Rhymes from an Irish Childhood – Sarah Webb illustrated by Steve Mc Carthy (The O’ Brien Press)

  • National Book Tokens Children’s Book of the Year (Senior)

Stand by Me – Judi Curtin (The O’ Brien Press)

  • Dept 51@Eason Teen / Young Adult Book of the Year

Tangleweed and Brine – Deirdre Sullivan illustrated by Karen Vaughan (Little Island)

  • Eason Book Club Novel of the Year

Midwinter Break – Bernard MacLaverty (Jonathan Cape)

  • Specsavers Popular Fiction Book of the Year

The Break – Marian Keyes (Michael Joseph)

  • Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year

The Therapy House – Julie Parsons (New Island Books)

  • Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year

I Found my Tribe – Ruth Fitzmaurice (Chatto & Windus)

  • Onside Non-Fiction Book of the Year

Wounds: A Memoir of War & Love – Fergal Keane (Williams Collins)

  • Ireland AM Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year

Motherfoclóir – Darach Ó Séaghdha (Head of Zeus)

  • EUROSPAR Cookbook of the Year

Cook Well, Eat Well – Rory O’ Connell (Gill Books)

  • Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year

The Choice – Philly McMahon with Niall Kelly (Gill Books)

  • RTÉ Radio 1’s The Ryan Tubridy Show Listener’s Choice Award

he: A novel – John Connolly (Hodder & Stoughton)

  • Listowel Writer’s Week Irish Poem of the Year

Seven Sugar Cubes – Clodagh Beresford Dunne (From the Irish Times)

Huge congratulations to everyone shortlisted and all the winners!

%d bloggers like this: