The Short Story of the Year Award 2015 Launched | Magazine | News for Writers
iba_2015 140x210 is delighted to announce that we are sponsoring the Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards Short Story of the Year Award again this year. Our inaugural 2013 winner, Cork based author Billy O’Callaghan told,

“It is no exaggeration to say that winning the Short Story of the Year Award has changed my life. I have been writing for several years now, and for most of that time it has been a bit like trying to push a piano up the side of a mountain. Not only has it been a vindication of all my hard work, it has put me, suddenly and definitively, on the billy o'callaghan irish book awardsmap. Maybe it’s a question of the credibility that the major industry recognition of an Irish Book Award brings, but magazine editors are becoming more receptive to my stories, and reading opportunities have begun to open up for me, at festivals both at home and abroad. In the past six months, opportunity has come knocking over and over again, in small ways and big, and all are as a direct consequence of winning the award.”

john boyne irish book awardsLast year saw international bestselling author John Boyne triumph with his story ‘Rest Day’ first published in The Irish Times, beating off stiff competition from Christine Dwyer Hickey, Danielle McLaughlin, Donal Ryan, Frank McGuiness and Ciaran Folen.

The Irish short story has a distinctive place in the modern Irish literary tradition. Many award winning novelists have launched their careers with short stories, gaining recognition through a form that the internet has breathed new life into, by providing writers with new places to publish, making their work accessible to millions of potential readers at the click of a mouse.

This category in the prestigious Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards, the Short Story of the Year Award, is open to short stories of up to 7000 words published between 1st Nov 2014 and 31st October 2015 in any of the following contexts: a collection of short stories by a single author; an anthology of short stories; or an established journal or magazine, digital or print, that has been in existence for at least six months within the period of eligibility.

Stories must be original fiction, i.e. neither a reprint nor adaptation of a previously-published work, and all stories must have been or will be published in English or Irish during the qualifying period.  It is recommended, that should a story in Irish be shortlisted, an English translation is provided to facilitate the public vote. This is optional.

The author must be Irish by birth, citizenship or long-term residence.

Please read the full Terms and Conditions here.

Vanessa Fox O’Loughlin,  founder of The Inkwell Group publishing consultancy,  of and Chairperson of Irish PEN said, “ was developed to assist writers worldwide to perfect their craft through the wisdom and experience of Irish authors, and to promote those authors to a global audience. We are thrilled to be involved in Bord Gais Energy Book Awards again this year and are are very much looking forward to hearing from new and established voices.”

Submissions for the Short Story of the Year Award will be judged anonymously, the long list read by an independent panel of judges, chaired in a non voting capacity by leading literary agent Simon Trewin, Partner and Head of Literary at WME London. This year’s judges are Director of Dublin City of Literature Jane Alger; Bob Johnston of the Gutter Bookshop, bestselling author and journalist Martina Devlin, Cathal Póirtéir, Writing.e Irish Editor, and David Lee of Cross Pens.

To submit a story, please click here.

The judging panel will select the final six stories to be shortlisted for the Short Story of the Year Award. The winner will be announced at the Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards on 25th November 2015. For more information about the awards check out:

Watch last year’s glittering ceremony here:

While this Award is for published stories, we have a strong focus on new talent at and unpublished writers should watch out for an exciting competition we will launching on 1st September.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books