• Kazoo Independent Publishing Services Special Offer


Writing.ie Short Story of the Year 2017 Longlist Revealed

Article by Vanessa Fox O'Loughlin © 7 October 2017 .
Posted in the Magazine ( · News for Writers ).

We are delighted to reveal the longlist for the Writing.ie Short Story of the Year – the stories are judged completely anonymously and our panel of shortlist judges Alison Lyons, Director of Dublin City of Literature, Simon Trewin Literary Agent with WME London and Bob Johnston of the Gutter Bookshop are now ruminating on choosing the final six stories that will be put to the public vote when the shortlists for all the categories in the Bord Gais Irish Book Awards are revealed.

The six shortlisted stories will be published in full on Writing.ie so that you can read them and vote.

The standard was extremely high again this year with a wonderful selection of submissions from publishers, journals and magazines. The longlisted authors are (in no particular order):

Gerard Beirne

Paul McVeigh

Sally Rooney

Éilís Ní Dhuibhne

Helena Mulkerns

Patricia McAdoo

June Caldwell

John MacKenna

Nuala O’Connor

David Butler

James Lawless

John Connell

Christine Dwyer Hickey

Very best of luck to all the authors! Watch this space for news of the shortlist!

%d bloggers like this: