• www.inkitt.com

Writing.ie Short Story of the Year 2018 Long List Announced

Writing.ie | Magazine | News for Writers
an post logo
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

It’s a tough field this year! We had many excellent entries to The Writing.ie Short Story of the Year competition from some of the worlds most prestigious publishers. Here is the long list of twelve authors – of these six will be selected for the public vote. Our prestigious panel of judges – Alison Lyons, Director of Dublin UNESCO City of Literature, Bob Johnston from The Gutter Bookshop and Simon Trewin, Partner at WME, read every story blind, so if you are on the list, do feel free to share but please don’t identify your story title in the public forum!

Here are the longlisted authors in no particular order:

Gerard McKeown

Frank McGuinness

Cecelia Ahern

Roisín O’Donnell

Kevin Curran

Nuala O’Connor

Caoilinn Hughes

Mia Gallagher

Martina Devlin

Deirdre Sullivan

Sheila Armstrong

David Butler


And VERY highly commended:

Rosses Point by John Connell – Granta

Gas and Air by Jane Lavelle – The Dublin Review

Fortune on Fair Day by Mary O’Donnell – from Empire (Arlen House)

These Silver Fish by Anne O’Brien – from A Short Affair (Simon and Schuster)

The Host by Deirdre Sullivan – Banshee issue #7

The Theft by Kevin Power – Banshee issue #6



  • www.designforwriters.com
  • amzn.to

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from writing.ie delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books

  • amzn.to
  • amzn.to
  • amzn.to
  • amzn.to