• www.inkitt.com

Writing.ie Short Story of the Year 2019

Writing.ie | Magazine | News for Writers

Please note: the Writing.ie Short Story of the Year 2019 is now closed for entries.

Writing.ie is delighted to announce that we are sponsoring the An Post Irish Book Awards Writing.ie Short Story of the Year Award again this year.

Roisin O’Donnell won in 2018 for her story ‘How to Build a Space Rocket’ which featured in The Broken Spiral anthology complied by RM Clarke for Dublin Rape Crisis, watch her chatting about the story to Evelyn O’Rourke and read her story here

Our inaugural 2013 winner, Cork based author Billy O’Callaghan (read his story here) pictured below told Writing.ie: 

“It is no exaggeration to say that winning the Writing.ie Short Story of the Year Award has changed my life. I have been writing for several years now, and for most of that time it has been a bit like trying to push a piano up the side of a mountain. Not only has it been a vindication of all my hard work, it has put me, suddenly and definitively, on themap. Maybe it’s a question of the credibility that the major industry recognition of an Irish Book Award brings, but magazine editors are becoming more receptive to my stories, and reading opportunities have begun to open up for me, at festivals both at home and abroad. In the past six months, opportunity has come knocking over and over again, in small ways and big, and all are as a direct consequence of winning the award.”

john boyne irish book awards2014 saw international bestselling author John Boyne triumph with his story ‘Rest Day’ first published in The Irish Times, beating off stiff competition from Christine Dwyer Hickey, Danielle McLaughlin, Donal Ryan, Frank McGuiness and Ciaran Folen.

And in 2015, Man Booker nominated Donal Ryan took the prize with his story (of the same title) taken from his collection A Slanting of the Sun. Read his story here.

In 2016, Orla McAlinden won with a story from her collection The Accidental Wife, published by American publisher Sowilo Press in Philadelphia. Read her winning story here.

Our 2017 winner was Christine Dwyer Hickey with Back to Bones, also longlisted for The Sunday Times EFG competition 2017. Read her story here.

The Irish short story has a distinctive place in the modern Irish literary tradition. Many award winning novelists have launched their careers with short stories, gaining recognition through a form that the internet has breathed new life into, by providing writers with new places to publish, making their work accessible to millions of potential readers at the click of a mouse.

This category in the prestigious An Post Irish Book Awards, the Writing.ie Short Story of the Year Award, is open to short stories of up to 7000 words published between 1st Nov 2018 and 31st October 2019 in any of the following contexts: a collection of short stories by a single author; an anthology of short stories; or an established journal or magazine, digital or print, that has been in existence for at least six months within the period of eligibility.

Stories must be original fiction, i.e. neither a reprint nor adaptation of a previously-published work, and all stories must have been or will be published in English during the qualifying period.  The author must be Irish by birth, citizenship or long-term residence.

Please read the full Terms and Conditions here.

Pictured at the 10th annual Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards is Donal Ryan, winner of the Writing.ie Short Story of the Year award for his books Slanting at the Sun with Vanessa O'Loughlin. Pic: Patrick Bolger
Pictured at the 10th annual Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards, Donal Ryan, winner of the Writing.ie Short Story of the Year award 2015 with Vanessa Fox O’Loughlin.
Pic: Patrick Bolger

Vanessa Fox O’Loughlin,  founder of The Inkwell Group publishing consultancy,  of Writing.ie, Chairperson of Irish PEN and bestselling author (writing as Sam Blake) explains, “Writing.ie was developed to assist writers worldwide to perfect their craft through the wisdom and experience of Irish authors, and to promote those authors to a global audience. We are thrilled to be involved in Bord Gais Energy Book Awards again this year and are are very much looking forward to hearing from new and established voices.”

Submissions for the Writing.ie Short Story of the Year Award will be judged anonymously, the long list read by an independent panel. Shortlisted stories will be judged by Simon Trewin, Literary agent and Partner at WME, Bob Johnston of the Gutter Book Shop and Alison Lyons, Director of Dublin UNESCO City of Literature.

To submit a story, please click here.

The judging panel will select the final six stories to be shortlisted for the Writing.ie Short Story of the Year Award. The winner will be announced at the An Post Irish Book Awards on 20th November 2019. For more information about the awards check out: http://www.irishbookawards.ie/

  • A writers' retreat space, in an old world cottage, overlooking Lough Derg in North Tipperary -
  • allianceindependentauthors.org

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from writing.ie delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books

  • I Am Pat: Memoir of a Donegal Childhood by Patrick Doherty
  • amzn.to
  • amzn.to
  • amzn.to