• www.inkitt.com

The Book of Shadows by ER Murray

Writing.ie | Children’s Books

By Mia Madden, BleachHouseLibrary.ie

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Review by Mia Madden, aged 13.

This is the eagerly anticipated second part in the Nine Lives Trilogy. It catches up with Ebony Smart two months after the events in the previous book, The Book of Learning. Aunt Ruby introduces Ebony to another family from the Order of Nine Lives, the O’Haras. Within the family are snooty Seamus, who copies his dad’s every move, and cheery Chiyoko, Ebony’s number one fan.

The Book of Learning has been dormant since the last installment but when Chiyoko picks it up, it spells out the message “They’re coming”. These words start the unveiling of new secrets for Ebony, including the discovery of an anime show based on her life. While in Stephen’s Green Ebony stumbles across a silver box and is given the task of returning it to its owner. As mysterious as it already is, things get worse when Chiyoko is taken by strange creatures called Shadow Walkers. Ebony has to figure out what is coming and how to stop it, return the silver box when she has no idea who its owner and also find a way to get Chiyoko back. On the bright side, she has made a few friends (some characters old and new) to stop the oncoming threat. Can Ebony and faithful rat Winston complete their missions? Confusing, right?

Even though this all sounds a bit mind-wrecking, it is one of the best books I have read this year. A potential award winner, methinks. There is one thing I can’t mention as it could spoil the first book and I wouldn’t want to ruin it for anyone. I HATE spoilers! Let’s just say it involves a traitor, but one which side? I enjoyed it so much that I had to re-read it. There is a major cliffhanger, so hurry up with book three ER Murray! I want to see what happens next.

I recommend this book for ages 10+

  • The Dark Room by Sam Blake
  • www.designforwriters.com

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from writing.ie delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books

  • The Needle and the Damage Done is the story of a boy from a small Irish village who became an adventurer, multi-award-winning do
  • None Stood Taller by Peter Turnham
  • Freewheeling to Love by Máire O' Leary. A contemporary romance set in Co. Kerry
  • More adventures in 'Billy's Search for the Unspell Spell' the sequel out now!