• www.inkitt.com


Competition: 2018 International Rubery Book Award

Article by writingie © 20 October 2017 Writing.ie .
Posted in the Magazine ( · Writing Competitions ).

Competition deadline: 31st March 2018

The 2018 International Rubery Book Award is now OPEN for self-published and independently published books.

Book of the Year £1500 (approx 2000 US$; 1800 )
The winning book will be read by a top London Literary Agent.
Plus a minimum of the 3 category winners each winning £150 (approx 200$, 180€)

The 2018 International Rubery Book Award have secured three high profile judges for their 2018 awards:

Paul McDonald – senior lecturer in English and Creative Writing at the University of Wolverhampton. He is the author of fifteen books, including three novels and three collections of poetry.

Pauline Morgan has been on the panel of judges for the critically acclaimed international Arthur C. Clarke Award. She is an experienced reviewer of fiction, appearing regularly in the on-line reviews magazine, SFCrowsnest.

Clare Morrall – her debut novel, Astonishing Splashes of Colour, was shortlisted for the MAN Booker Prize. Morrall was also shortlisted for British Newcomer of the Year 2003. Her fourth novel, The Man who Disappeared, was selected for the TV Book Club 2010. In 2012 The Roundabout Man was released to critical acclaim.

Terms and Conditions
  • This is an international competition and we accept submissions from anyone in the world provided all submissions are in English.
  • Each entrant will submit one copy of their book.
  • Entrants may be asked to send a further copy of their book.
  • Each entrant will fill out the entry form and send with their book.
  • Books published by independent presses and self published books are eligible to enter.
  • Entry fees will be paid either by PayPal or cheque (cheques in pound sterling ONLY). If paid by PayPal, your email confirmation should be printed out and sent with your book.
  • You may enter the competition as many times as you wish so long as each submission is accompanied with the relevant submission fee.
  • There is no publication date requirement but books should not be out of print.
  • Unpublished manuscripts are not accepted and will not be returned. No refund will be issued.
  • Entries cannot be returned.
  • The Rubery Book Award holds no responsibility for incomplete or ineligible entries.
  •  Anybody associated with the Rubery Book Award and employees is not eligible to enter.
  • Entries containing unacceptable (in Rubery Book Award’s opinion), indecent, defamatory, or discriminatory language, pornographic or other unlawful content shall not be considered.
  • You must not use a courier when posting your entry. It is also your responsibility to fill out the customs forms and declarations correctly. Not doing so will result in your entry being returned. We take no responsibility for this.
  • If your entry is returned to you we will expect you to email us your entry as an ebook or Word document.
    If, in our judgement a refund is due, the request must be made within twenty eight days of the entry being made.
  • All prizes will be paid in sterling either by Cheque or PayPal. The Rubery Book Award cannot be held responsible for any fees levied by PayPal or fees associated with currency conversions.
  • By entering you agree that if you win one of our awards you will send us a photo with your award for us to post on our website and/or social media and to be used for any advertising that we do.
  • The judge’s decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.
  • No feedback is offered and no personal comments regarding entries will be given.
    Entries received after the closing date will automatically be put forward for the following competition. No refunds will be given.
  • You retain all rights to your work.
  •  By entering this competition each entrant agrees to be bound by these terms and conditions.
Please see website for more details: www.ruberybookaward.com

%d bloggers like this: