• www.inkitt.com

Competition: The 2020 Michael McLaverty Short Story Award

Writing.ie | Magazine | Writing Competitions
Linen Hall

By Writing.ie

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Competition deadline: 31st  January 2021

The Linen Hall Library in Belfast, Northern Ireland, has announced the launch of the 2020 Michael McLaverty Short Story Award. This prestigious award, which has run biennially since 2006, was set up to foster and encourage the tradition of the Irish short story.

Entrants must have been born in, or are citizens of, or resident in Northern Ireland/Republic of Ireland. The prize is £2,000 for the winning story and £250 for each of the two runners-up. Deadline for entries is midnight Sunday 31st January 2021.

Michael McLaverty (1904 – 1992) was one of the foremost proponents of the Irish short story. His archive was donated to the Library by the Literary Executors of Michael McLaverty in 2005.
Adjudicators for this year’s competition are multi-award-winning writer Donal Ryan (The Spinning Heart; The Thing About December; All We Shall Know; A Slanting of the Sun; From a Low and Quiet Sea; Strange Flowers) and Patsy Horton, Managing Editor of Blackstaff Press.

Donal Ryan said: “It’s an honour to be associated with the Michael McLaverty Short Story Award. Michael was a writer of sublime skill and I’m looking forward to reading the entries, and helping to choose a work that will honour his legacy.”

Linen Hall Librarian Samantha McCombe said: “The Michael McLaverty archive at the Linen Hall is a pillar of the rich and expansive literary archives held at the Library. The award celebrates the skill and artistry of this esteemed writer and continues Michael McLaverty’s commitment to foster and encourage creativity in the short story form.”

McLaverty 2018 winner Eamon McGuinness said: “It was a complete honour and privilege to win the prestigious Michael McLaverty Short Story awarded in 2019. The whole experience was a turning point in my writing life. To be chosen by two esteemed judges, award-winning writer Claire Keegan and Patsy Horton, was extra special. The win really boosted my confidence and reaffirmed to me that I was on the right path, and I haven’t looked back since.”

The inaugural competition in 2006 was won by Patrick O’Hanlon. Subsequent winners have gone on to publish further works, including: Aiden O’Reilly (2008 winner): Greetings, Hero; Michèle Forbes (2010): Ghost Moth, Edith & Oliver; Mandy Taggart (2012): The Man of the House; Annemarie Neary (2014): A Parachute in the Lime Tree, Siren, The Orphans; Kevin Doyle (2016): To Keep a Bird Singing, A River of Bodies.

Terms and Conditions

  1. The award is open to those who were born in, or are citizens of, or resident in Northern Ireland/Republic of Ireland.
  2. NO entry form is required.
  3. Entries must NOT have been, by the date of submission, published or broadcast in any medium.
  4. Entries must be typed, in double spacing, using only one side of A4 paper.
  5. Entries must NOT exceed the maximum of 3,000 words.
  6. Entries can be emailed to info@linenhall.com or posted to the Linen Hall
    library at the address below. Hard copy entries will NOT be returned.
  7. No indication of the writer’s identity may appear on the story to be entered.
  8. Name, address, telephone number and e-mail address should be submitted separately, under the heading Michael McLaverty Short Story Award 2020.
  9. No more than ONE story may be submitted by any entrant.
  10. The decision of the adjudicators is final.
  11. Winners and runners-up ONLY will be notified.
  12. The adjudicators will not enter into any correspondence concerning the award.
  13. The staff of the Linen Hall Library will not enter into any correspondence concerning the award.
  14. Should an appropriate standard not be achieved, no award will be presented.
  15. The Linen Hall Library reserves the right to select for publication such entries as may be deemed appropriate, in any year.
  16. The Linen Hall Library will liaise with successful authors in preparing texts for publication.
  17. The award will be presented at the Linen Hall Library in June 2021.

For more information about the 2020 Michael McLaverty Short Story Award, please visit the Linen Hall Library website www.linenhall.com.

  • allianceindependentauthors.org
  • www.designforwriters.com

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from writing.ie delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books

  • More adventures in 'Billy's Search for the Unspell Spell' the sequel out now!
  • amzn.to
  • amzn.to