• www.inkitt.com

Competition: The Barbellion Prize

Writing.ie | Magazine | Writing Competitions
Barbellion Prize Logo

By Writing.ie

Competition deadline: 31st October 2022

The Barbellion Prize is a literary award dedicated to the furtherance of ill and disabled voices in writing. The prize, now in its third year, is awarded annually to an author whose published work best represents the experience of chronic illness and/or disability. It was won this year by Irish author Lynn Buckle. The prize was founded by Jake Goldsmith and is named in tribute to the English diarist W.N.P. Barbellion who wrote eloquently on his life with multiple sclerosis before his death in 1919.


The work can be of any genre: fiction, memoir, biography, poetry, or critical non-fiction from around the world – whether it is in English, in translation, traditionally published, or self-published.

The author is chronically ill or disabled.

Authors can be of any nationality, resident in any country.


£1000.00 sterling

Former Winners

Riva Lehrer for her American memoir Golem Girl (published by One World/Virago).

Lynn Buckle for her Irish novel What Willow Says (published by époque press).


If you are an author, agent, or publisher wishing to submit a work, please consult our ‘How To Submit A Work’ page.

Further details on our website.

  • www.designforwriters.com
  • allianceindependentauthors.org

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get all of the latest from writing.ie delivered directly to your inbox.

Featured books