writing_ie-logo

  • www.inkitt.com
gerry-chaney-interviews-header

Resources for Writers

Writing that second book by Sharon Thompson

w-ie-small
Article by Sharon Thompson ©.
Posted in Resources (, , ).

Some of you may be screaming at me right now. ‘‘Writing a second book? I’d be happy if I could get one flamin’ book published!’ 

Trust me, I thought that too, but guess what? I want more. I’m in the throws of writing book 2, following signing for a further two crime novels with Bloodhound Books UK, when my debut The Abandoned came out in January. 

And …. it isn’t easy. Writing book two is as precarious as writing book one. I am awaiting with anticipation, our tweet chat on Thurs 17th Many with Andrea Mara, as I need lots of advice and help!

We all learn at the tweet-chats regardless of the assigned topic. #WritersWise is about all things writing-wise and all are welcome to follow, link in and network. We try to stay on topic with the questions I’m outlining below, but we encourage shameless self-promotion and for everyone to engage and tell us what they might like in further chats. 

How is the 17th May #WritersWise chat with Andrea Mara going to be structured;?

We start at 9.00 pm and will have Introductions and hullos and then try to stay on topics;

T1. Are second books really a challenge – is the “difficult second album” thing true?

T2. Do readers expect more of the same or want something different?

T3. What are the pitfalls when writing a second book?

T4. Is the book promotion side of it easier second time around?

Closing Thoughts are at 10pm GMT.

Who is our guest-host?

Andrea Mara is a freelance writer, author, and blogger, who lives in Dublin with her husband and three young children. She writes lifestyle features for Irish newspapers and magazines, and has won a number of awards for blogging. She attempts – often badly – to balance work, family, and writing, then lets off steam on her blog, OfficeMum.ie. 

Her first book, The Other Side of the Wall (Poolbeg Press) and was published in 2017 and shortlisted for the Kate O’Brien Award in 2018.  Her second book One Click is out now in bookstores and on Amazon.

 

 

About One Click:

One photo couldn’t hurt, could it?

When Lauren takes a photo of a stranger on a beach and shares it online, she has no idea what will come of that single click.

Her daughters are surprised that she posted a photo without consent, but it’s only when she starts to get anonymous messages about the woman on the beach that she deletes the photo. It’s too little too late, and the messages escalate, prompting Lauren to confess to the woman. The woman has her own dark story, one that might explain the messages, but Lauren isn’t convinced. Then her ex-husband begins to harass her, telling her she shares too much online and brought this on herself.

She’s also dealing with other problems. A difficult client at work – one who starts to show up in places he shouldn’t be. Her younger daughter is behaving out of character and Lauren can’t work out what’s wrong. And the cracks are literally beginning to show in her old South Dublin house, mirroring the cracks in her carefully curated life.

Meanwhile, the messages from the internet troll become more personal and more vindictive. Her friends feel she should stand up to her stalker, but Lauren isn’t so sure. And then she makes one small mistake that brings everything tumbling down.

Order your copy online here.

One Click is flying high for Andrea and we all will be tweeting about her book and making a fuss for her at #WritersWise on Thursday 17th too. Perhaps her next chat will be about, ‘Writing book 3.’ The cycle of worry and nail-biting for an author next stops!

Getting a ‘spark’ when trying to come up with writing ideas for that allusive book is something Andrea tackled in her latest Irish Times article.

We must remember that there’s always that next book coming along the track for us. Learning how to write prolifically is something we dream about, isn’t it? Getting a chance to ask a writer about how they achieve many books, is a gift. Andrea Mara is offering her time for free and will gladly answer writing questions, for the hour 9-10pm. Join in.

There will be many more topics and hosts to tell you about. Here’s a link to our website and a link to a video of the chats and fabulous guest-hosts we have had, so far this year.

I’ll be back soon, with a transcript and short podcast, to tell you how we got on and what’s ahead for #Writerswise.
See you on twitter on #WritersWise 17th May with Andrea Mara 9-10pm.

If you’d like to follow my writing blog and newsletter check out www.sharontwriter.com or join in with our trending, writing tweet-chat #WritersWise www.writerswise1.wordpress.com

For some more of my great advice (*throw eyes to heaven) check out writing.ie

(c) Sharon Thompson

About The Abandoned:

Do you love crime thrillers full of suspense? Then you’ll love Sharon Thompson’s unmissable debut.

Peggy Bowden has not had an easy life. As a teenager, her mother was committed to an asylum and then a local priest forced her into an abusive marriage. But when her husband dies in an accident Peggy sees an opportunity to start again and trains as a midwife.

In 1950s Dublin it is not easy for a woman to make a living and Peggy sees a chance to start a business and soon a lucrative maternity home is up and running.

But when Peggy realizes that the lack of birth control is an issue for women, she uses their plight as a way to make more money. Very soon Peggy is on the wrong side of the law.

What makes a woman decide to walk down a dark path? Can Peggy ever get back on the straight and narrow? Or will she have to pay for her crimes?

Set against the backdrop of Ireland in the 1950’s The Abandoned tells the story of one woman’s fight for survival and her journey into the underbelly of a dangerous criminal world.

The Abandoned is a debut novel not to be missed, it will appeal to fans of authors like Cara Hunter, Joy Ellis and Helen Fields.

Order your copy online here.


Sharon Thompson's debut crime novel, 'The Abandoned' was published by Bloodhound Books UK on 25th Jan 2018. It launched at #1 in Kindle Irish Crime Fiction. Bloodhound have signed her for a further two crime novels and some of her other manuscripts are on submission, through her agent Trace Literary Agency. Sharon lives in Donegal, Ireland and writes crime fiction, short stories and commercial fiction. She is a member of Imagine, Write, Inspire a writing group, under the mentorship of HarperCollins and Irish Times best-selling author, Carmel Harrington. Her blog and free digital magazine are available on her website. Sharon’s short stories have been published in various on-line magazines and she writes anything she can! Co-founder of #WritersWise, a trending, fortnightly, promotional tweet-chat, Sharon tries to support writers to reach as wide an audience as possible and learn from their guest-hosts (www.writerswise1.wordpress.com). On Sunday mornings, Sharon’s regular column is on Woman’s Words with Donegal Woman website and Facebook. http://www.donegalwoman.ie/author/sharon-thompson/ Sharon also founded #Indulgeinbooks on stylish woman's website, Indulgeme.ie https://indulgeme.ie/indulgeinbooks-7-new-books-may-2018/ Find Sharon on http://www.sharontwriter.com
%d bloggers like this: